This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Reading Lists Online

How to edit and updates lists on Reading Lists Online, and how to request digitised extracts.

Bookmarking journal articles

Search CityLibrary Search for a topic, or the title of the journal article you want to add to your reading list. (You may find useful to refine your search to articles only)

  • Click on the title of the article you need.
  • Go to the webpage of the article.
  • Use the Add to My Bookmarks button on your toolbar.
  • Check the bibliographic details of the article. 
  • Select Create or Create & Add to List to add the reference to your reading list. 

How to bookmark an article using the DOI

DOI (digital object identifier) is a string of numbers (a digital identifier) used to identify an electronic document. Each document has a unique DOI.

If you already know the DOI of the article, go to the My Bookmarks tab. Then click on the Add bookmark drop down menu and select Add manually.

Type, or copy and paste the DOI in the search box, then click on Lookup to populate the reference.  This will automatically add author(s), title of the article, of the journals, dates, volume number, etc.

Finally select Create or Create & Add to List.

Bookmarking from JSTOR

Is the full-text article available via JSTOR?

  • Open the full-text article in JSTOR
  • Click on the Add to My Bookmarks button on your browser
  • Check bibliographic details and edit if necessary, then select Create or Create & Add to List to add to the relevant reading list

When you bookmark articles from JSTOR, the bookmark will automatically include JSTOR stable URL.

Bookmarking from Nexis UK

Log on to Nexis UK and locate the title of the newspaper article you require.

Click on the title of the article and open the full-text.

Click on the Add to My Bookmarks button on the bookmarks toolbar in your browser. The bookmark tool in Reading Lists Online has captured the URL, but you will need to type the rest of the information, you can see on the right hand side of the screen.

You also need to change the resource type to article. Click on the drop down arrow to see all the resource types available and select Article.

Use the drop down menu and the Add button to add bibliographic information.

Select Create or Create & Add to List.

Bookmarking from Google Scholar

Go to Google Scholar, and search for the article you need to add to your reading list.

If City has a subscription to the online journal, you will see the Is it @ CityLibrary? link on the right hand side of the screen next to the reference. Click on this link to open the link resolver page, then scroll to the bottom of the page to find the link.

Click on this link, then select Create or Create & Add to List.

Hide the "Check for local electronic subscriptions" link

Want to hide the "Check for local electronic subscriptions" link? The 'Check for local electronic subscriptions' link will only result in a working full-text article link if City have a subscription to the journal for the relevant year. If you are linking to an article that is not available via subscription - maybe  it's a free, open access article - the 'Check for local electronic subscriptions' link will not work.

 

To hide the "Check for local electronic subscriptions link", change the 'Resource Type' to something other than 'Article' e.g. change Resource Type to 'Document'.