Newspapers and magazines

Find out about the different current and historical newspaper resources, how to locate and use them.

Current news databases

Use Nexis UK and Factiva to search for international, national and regional news, and access the full text of those newspapers which are normally restricted by paywalls, such as The Times (London) and the New York Times.

These databases are updated daily. They provide you with the full-text of the article, but no accompanying images, graphics or charts.

Nexis UK
Is a news database which offers national, regional and international news from a range of sources on various subjects emphasising on business and industry, including company and industry reports. Its content is updated daily and many titles have a 20 year archive.

Limitation - You may only download a single copy of insubstantial portions of those Materials included in any individually searchable file or content source in the Online Services. Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only. See details below for more information.

Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes. Text data mining is not permitted within our Nexis UK licence.
Accessibility information for Nexis UK
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
Factiva
Provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.

Limitation - Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only. Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence. See details below for more information.
Accessibility information for Factiva
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 30 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.

PressReader

PressReader provides digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. It covers titles in over 60 languages. The list of UK broadsheet and tabloid newspapers includes The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, and The Daily Mail. Issues of newspapers and magazines appear as they do in the print edition. PressReader is an excellent resource for studying page layout, advertisements, photographs, etc.

PressReader provides access to the last year of most publications, with the exception of The Guardian, which only archives the last 2 weeks.

You can do keyword searches across all the journals and magazines included in PressReader to find articles of interest.

Current newspapers and magazines

Economist.com
Authoritative weekly magazines of news and opinion, covering world politics, economics, business finance, science and technology. Full-text available from June 1997 to present.
Accessibility information for Economist.com
The Economist Online also offers a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programmes. Access is sponsored by The Worshipful Company of International Bankers.

To access the FT.com you must register for a Financial Times account first.

FT.com
Gives access to the daily news focusing on international business and economics. It also provides access to company and market data as well as the FT ePaper which is the digital replica of the Financial Times printed newspaper from different countries including UK, Asia and USA.
Accessibility information for Financial Times
To sign up for a FT account, please see How to register/re-register for a FT account. Further details are available by emailing businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
London Review of Books
Is Europe’s leading magazine of culture and ideas. Published twice a month, it explores a wide variety of subjects– from art, politics and fiction to science and technology. This archive contains every piece ever published in the magazine: over 13,500 articles by more than 2000 contributors from the past 30 years.
Accessibility information for London Review of Books
Times Higher Education
Global higher education coverage including world university rankings, news, opinions and features. Read online articles, digital editions and download the app to your device.

Systems requirement - The Times Higher Education app is available to download from your app store provider on iOS, Android and Kindle Fire.
Accessibility information for Times Higher Education
Search for "Times Higher Education" in CityLibrary Search and follow instruction for signing up (sign up with your City email address). Then search directly within the Times Higher Education website or go to Times Higher Education website , click the person icon in the top right corner and register using your City email address.

CityLibrary Search

Help guides:

Citing & referencing