This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Library Services for Research

An overview of the services available via City's Libraries for Masters students, PhD students, postdoctoral and academic staff.

Finding Information

The quickest way to find information for your research is to use the online Library Guides which relate most closely to your topic. Subject Guides provide details of and access to key resources relating to the discipline they cover. Resources available include:

Bibliographic Databases; Journals; Books and Websites.

On this page Library Guides have been listed under the School they represent. We have also highlighted some generally useful research resources.

You can also find  information on our research blog  and examples of resources recommended by City research students and staff on our research case study blog.

Books and E-Books

Books are useful to give an overview of a particular subject.

Search CityLibrary Search by title, keyword or author to locate books and e-books. 

  • To find a book in the Library, you will need to make a note of the shelfmark and match this to the spine of the book. Books are arranged in numerical order.

  •  To access e-books on and off campus click the 'Full text online' link and enter your City username and password.

Journals and Journal Articles

Journals are very useful for current research as they tend to be published more frequently than books.

Search for CityLibrary  online journals

 

BrowZine

BrowZine is a really useful resource which allows researchers to browse electronic journals.

Some Useful Research Databases

Please also see our Library guides page for different subject resources.

City Research Online

City Research Online (CRO) is the institutional repository of City, University of London. It includes full text versions and bibliographic records of research outputs created by members of staff and research students at City.

It contains some electronic theses written by City graduates.

Use it to find out about research conducted in your department or written by City academic staff and research students.

For further guidance about City Research Online, please see our Library Guide. 

Finding Theses

Details of PhD theses written by former City students are available via City Library Search

Enter your search terms eg. Counselling Psychology and when the results appear select the Dissertation/ Thesis option at the left hand side of the screen. Click Library location, select the library location you require.

As print PhD theses are kept in the library store you will need to select the Request print copy from the library store link. 
There are store collections at 9.30 am and 2.30 pm each day. You can collect your thesis from the Northampton Square Library Reception Desk after 11am and 4pm respectively.

For more recent electronic versions  of theses, you can also search City's repository City Research Online.

CityLibrary Search will link to EThoS if a digitised copy is available or City Research Online if an electronic thesis is available.

ETHoS logo

  • Includes details of theses from Universities in the UK - this service is provided by the British Library.
  • Some full text is available – you can register with the service and order  some theses for free.
  • Details may not be included on other databases or on Google.
  • When the results appear, click on the title link to see more details  of the thesis. An abstract may be available. If the full text is available you will need to register and log in to download

Archives and Special Collections

Library Services are custodians of the City, University of London Archive and responsible for maintaining, preserving and making the existing heritage collection accessible to staff, students and external researchers.

For more information on our Archive, Special Collections and how to access materials, please visit our Archive and Special Collections Guide.

Holdings

The Archive contains a wide range of material detailing the history of the institution, including:

  • Annual reports and general administrative records
  • Press cuttings
  • Photographs
  • Audio/Visual resources.

The Northampton Square Library also houses a number of special collections, including:

  • The Athenaeum
  • Sir Robert Birley collection
  • The James Cameron collection

The Aim25 consortium has details of the complete holdings of the City, University of London Archive.

Access

Requests to access the collection should be made to the Archives@City Team.