This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Library Services for Research

An overview of the services available via City's Libraries for Masters students, PhD students, postdoctoral and academic staff.

Managing Research

  • It is important to be methodical and find a systematic way of working and select appropriate tools and technologies to support your research process and to store your work as this will enable you to work more efficiently. 
  • See how to download data analysis software such as SPSS, NVivo  from IT Services.
  • You can see apps and storage tools recommended by City research students on the bottom left of this page.
  • You may wish to consider using reference management software such as RefWorks to manage your references.

Managing CityLibrary Search Results

See our guide on how to manage your search results from CityLibrary Search  which is a library search engine that you can use to find books, e-books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, videos, and much more.

Keeping Up To Date

Writing dissertations and theses, can be a long process. Finding relevant materias through databases and other resources is not the end of the process as you need to analyse them and collect data from them which can be time consuming. Whilst you are performing these tasks new studies covering your topic may have been published. It is important that you include these in your final draft.

Here are details on how you can ensure your literature search is kept up to date:

Database search alerts

Search Alerts can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new search results become available relating to a previous database search you have performed.

Alerts can be created for any database searches you perform within the EBSCOhost and Ovid Online platforms.

Journal content alerts

Tables of contents alerts can be set up to provide automatic email notification of the contents of the latest issues of selected journals. You can thus check the latest contents to see if there are any articles that cover your search topic.

Journal TOCs is a good resource for setting up alerts. It provides free access to the tables of contents from a choice of thousands of academic journals.

If the journal you are interested in is not available through Journal Tocs you can see if it is available from the EBSCOhost or Ovid Online platforms.

You can sometimes create TOC alerts for individual journals. Simply go to their website and see if they provide an email alert option.

ProQuest RefWorks

ProQuest RefWorks is an online reference management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels gather, organise, store and share all types of references which you gather during your research and to generate citations and bibliographies.

A new version of RefWorks (known as 'ProQuest RefWorks') has recently been launched. It is anticipated that the existing RefWorks (now referred to as 'Legacy RefWorks') will continue to run alongside the new version until January 2018.  Our Library guide provides login instructions and offers advice on which version to use.

Use ProQuest Refworks to:

  • Manage and store your references from projects and dissertations in folders.
  • Export references from CityLibrary Search and many databases and Google Scholar etc into RefWorks.
  • Create and format bibliographies in different styles and generate in text citations.
  • Save PDFs and documents.
  • Collaborate and share references with others.