This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Library Services for Research

An overview of the services available via City's Libraries for Masters students, PhD students, postdoctoral and academic staff.

Using other libraries

Researchers at City, University of London can benefit from a wide range of library collections held by other institutions and universities. This webpage sets out some of the main libraries available to you.

If the library you want to visit is not listed below, please contact a Research Librarian and we will check their access rules.

SCONUL Access Scheme

The SCONUL Access Scheme allows City staff and students to visit a large number of other university libraries. 

As a research student or member of staff, the SCONUL libraries will for the most part allow you to borrow books. However remember to check the library you wish to visit before making your trip, as there may be restrictions on what you can borrow. There may also be some collections you are not able to borrow from.

Some libraries may allow Masters students to borrow some materials, but please check before making your trip as this is not the case for all libraries.

In order to see the list of universities which are members of the SCONUL scheme, and to apply for SCONUL access, you need to complete an online SCONUL application form.

University of London Libraries

Our Accessing University of London Libraries Library Guide sets out details of library provision for City staff and students. Use this to find out access arrangements for institutions such as Senate House Library, the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and the Royal Academy of Music.

The British Library

The British Library is the UK's national library. Anyone can visit, but to use the Reading Rooms at St Pancras you will need to register for a Reader Pass. The British Library receives a copy of each book published in the UK, so will have books which may not be stocked by other libraries. You can search the British Library catalogue or search via COPAC.

You can pre-register for your Reader Pass online here. Once registered you will be able to log in and reserve items for your first visit.

On your first visit, you need to bring with you proof of your identity and address.

Archives

You may find the Aim25 website useful for checking Archive collections. Examples of archives include:

  • City, University of London archive: contains a wide range of material detailing the history of the institution, from annual reports and general administrative records, to press cuttings, photographs and even audio tapes of special lectures.
  • London Metropolitan Archives: home to an extraordinary range of documents, images, maps, films and books about London. The archive is free to use for everyone, however if you wish to access original material at LMA you will need to register for a History Card.
  • National Archives: the UK Government's official archive covering more than 1,000 years of history. Government records which have been selected for permanent preservation are sent to The National Archives. You will need to register for a reader's ticket if you want to look at original documents. This will require proof of ID and proof of address.

Specialist libraries

London is home to hundreds of specialist research libraries and archives; this page lists only a few. If you would like to find out about specialist libraries in your subject area, please contact your Subject Librarian.

Some include:

Useful library catalogues

If you cannot obtain an item at City or another library, you can try our Inter-Library Loan service.