The core purpose for developing a Collection Development Policy is to ensure there is a clear relationship between the investment decisions and operations in the Library Services and the overall strategy, goals and objectives of City, University of London.
Library Services occupy four locations and are managed centrally. They provide a dedicated, professional, integrated and responsive service to each of City’s five Schools.
Library Services aim to develop appropriate collections in support of education and research, and to strengthen the Libraries’ collections in support of City’s strategy and the Education and Student Strategy. The purpose of the Collection Development Policy is to inform Library staff and users, of the criteria and principles that will be used in the acquisition, management and disposal of resources, which include the following:
printed books and journals
online resources (databases, online journals and e-books)
digital course readings
City Research Online
Library Services Archives and Special Collections
This policy also describes how access to, and currency and maintenance of these resources will be achieved within agreed priorities and subject to constraints on funding and space.
The Collection Development Policy will be reviewed annually and updated when appropriate, or as and when the Library Leadership Team considers it necessary.
Any enquiries relating to the Collection Development Policy should be directed to email@example.com.
This policy is supported by the Library Committee.