This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

CityLibrary Search

How to use CityLibrary Search

What is CityLibrary Search?

CityLibrary Search is a library search engine that you can use to find books, e-books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, videos, and much more.  

What does CityLibrary Search include?

You should be able to read (either in print or online) everything you find when you use CityLibrary Search, because it includes material purchased by Library Services, and electronic resources Library Services subscribe to. CityLibrary Search also includes some open access resources and material added to City Research Online, our institutional repository.

When should you use CityLibrary search?

CityLibrary Search is a great place to start your research. You can quickly discover relevant information on any topic across the library's collection. 

  • You should use CityLibrary Search to find books and e-books in the library collection, and to access full-text journal articles the Library subscribes to. 
  • It is easy to use. CityLibrary Search uses a familiar search interface, it is similar to Google.
  • Search results can be filtered using the facets on the left hand side of the screen. 
  • You can save all the relevant results you have retrieved. You can print or email them, or export them to RefWorks (or other reference management software).

Although we have tried to include as much content as possible in CityLibrary Search, it still does not cover everything, and some subject areas are much better covered than others.  

If you are doing a literature review or a systematic review you should use subject specific databases.  You can find the list of subject specific databases in the library guide for your discipline, or browse the Databases A-Z list to see all the specialist resources Library Services subscribe to. 

If you already know the name of the database you need to use, you will find it easier and quicker to access the resource via the Databases A-Z list.

If you are looking for data, country, company, market and industry reports, you should use one of the specialist business databases Library Services subscribe to.  Please check the library guide for your specialism for a list of specialist resources, browse the Databases A-Z list or contact your Subject Librarian for advice. 

If you are searching for legal material, specifically case reports and legislation, please check the library guides for Law to find the list of recommended databases.