This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

City Research Online: What is City Research Online?

Find out more about City Research Online, including how to add your papers, who to contact for help, and more about Open Access at City.

What is City Research Online?

City Research Online enables our academic staff and researchers to record the bibliographic details of their research and make open access copies available.  It is comprised of City's open access Institutional Repository and our research publications database. Our publications database records bibliographic data for City's research outputs, and the open access repository makes our researchers' work freely available online.

  • The Publications Database: log in with your City IT username and password to add the details of your research so they appear on your Staff Profile. You also upload your files here, so that they can be checked by the Publications team and made Open Access.
  • The Institutional Repository: the Publications team uses this system to archive your papers and make them available online to all who want to access, read, use and cite them. It gets your papers highly ranked in search engines to enable the widest possible audience for City's research.

The Publications team check all uploaded papers to ensure they are compliant with copyright law and publishers' licences - we'll get in touch with you if there are any issues with your paper.

To get started, use our step-by-step guides to find out how get your papers onto City Research Online. 

Why should I make my research Open Access?

  • Many funding bodies now require Open Access publication as a condition of research funding.
  • HEFCE now have Open Access requirements for research to be entered into the next REF. Find out more on our Policies page.
  • Research paid for by public money or charity funds is then available to everyone at no further cost, and funders can be transparent about how their money has been spent.
  • Open Access helps papers get more citations: research into the Open Access Citation Advantage has shown that openly accessible research generally gets cited more than research that remains closed. Find out more.
  • Institutional repositories are an established part of the scholarly communication landscape and their impact will grow in light of the new HEFCE policy. Open Access allows users to discover and use your work without the barriers set up by login systems and paywalls.
  • Access to your research is democratized: all other researchers can use it, regardless of their institution's budget for journals and databases, meaning that researchers in other countries and individuals can access it. 

When we upload your work to City Research Online, we provide a full citation to the place where it was originally published and clearly label which version it is.  Your readers will know exactly what they're looking at and will be able to locate the Version of Record if they wish.

Make it count! Make sure your research can be included in the next REF

HEFCE have new requirements for papers being entered into the next REF.  To make your papers eligible, you will need to make the Author's Accepted Manuscript (AAM) of your journal articles and published conference papers available as Open Access papers as soon as possible. From 1st April 2016, it must be within three months of publication, and from 1st April 2017, within three months of the date that they are accepted for publication.  Find out more on our Policies page.

Other research outputs like books and chapters don't need to be Open Access to be eligible for the next REF, but the City's policy is to have a final version of them made Open Access through City Research Online.  You can find out more from the Research Office's Open Access webpages.

Support For Your Research at City

REF compliance checker for journals

Journals all have different standard policies governing whether you can post your Author's Accepted Manuscript or even final published version in an institutional repository like City Research Online. Use SHERPA REF to check if the journal you are considering is compliant.

Warning: SHERPA REF is currently in beta. If you have any doubts about a journal's policy, please ask the Publications Team for advice by emailing publications@city.ac.uk

City Research Online's Twitter stream

Help with City Research Online and Library Services for City Staff

  • Help with City Research Online: the Publications team is based within Library Services and can help by email or provide 1-2-1 support or group training. Email us to find out more: publications@city.ac.uk
  • Help with other areas of your Staff Profile: contact staffprofiles@city.ac.uk.
  • Library Services for Researchers and Staff: find out more about how Library Services can help you with your research and teaching using our guides.  There's also a general guide for students, and detailed Subject Guides for library resources are available for each subject taught at the University.