Library Guides: Air Transport for Distance Learning: Getting Started

Covid-19 arrangements

Please check our Covid-19 Adjustments Guide regularly for updates on changes to our services.

Appointments

We are not currently offering face to face appointments however, you can still arrange an online meeting with a Librarian. You can book via our Appointments page.

Introduction

This guide is designed for distance learning students studying Air Transport.

Use this guide to:

Explore resources for your coursework and research including: books, databases and journals
Obtain further support from Library Services
Discover contact details for your Subject Librarian

Key Resources for Aeronautics and Air Transport

Business Source Complete
This database contains a lot of material that is relevant for aviation students - ranging from specific companies to general areas such as human factors.
Nexis UK
Nexis UK contains the full text of over 12,000 news sources. The professional journal titles include Air Safety Week and Air Traffic Management.

The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct contains many full text peer reviewed journal articles. Titles include the Journal of Air Transport Management.

Full-text access is to subscribed content only
British Standards Online
British Standards Online includes all British standards and international and European standards that have been adopted as British standards. It also includes ASTM standards and ISO standards that haven't been adopted as British standards. You can search by standard number or subject term. Content includes standard tests and specifications for aviation fuel.

It also includes ASTM standards and ISO standards that haven't
been adopted as British standards. BSOL also holds BSI Publicly Available Specifications, as well as BSI books.The Eurocodes are a new set of European structural design codes for building and civil engineering works. They will be used for European public works and are set to become the de-facto standard for the private sector - both in Europe and worldwide.Please follow the link on the BSI homepage and click on BSOL subscribers in the yellow box on the right hand side of the page to access documents from the BSI construction module
Cite them right online
Cite them right online is an interactive book which helps you reference a number of different types of material, including standards, technical reports and patents.

Ch-Aviation

Ch-Aviation is a leading global airline intelligence resource which provides detailed information about the aviation industry, including latest news, airline profiles, global airport access data, fleet ownership and fleet production statistics.

To access Ch-Aviation, you will need to remotely connect to a computer at City and use a remote desktop. Follow these instructions to access Ch-Aviation.

If you have any queries about accessing this resource, please contact the Aviation Programme Office directly at pgaviation@city.ac.uk.

Looking for SEMS Exam Papers?

If available past exam papers will be in Moodle
If not, please ask your Tutor, Course Officer or School Office
The Library does not hold copies of past exam papers

Air Transport for Distance Learning