Library Guides: Journals, articles and research for Business: Key resources for academic research

Business Library Online Resources: Finding Articles and Academic Research (video)

Support for dissertations and projects - books

You can find useful books for business research in the carousel below.

Academic resources for Business

Search these databases for articles on your topic. When you get your results, use the filter marked 'Academic', 'Scholarly', or 'Peer-reviewed' to find academic journal articles only.

ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and the Economist.
Accessibility information for ProQuest One Business
Also covers ProQuest Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
Business Source Ultimate
Provides access to journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT Analysis, Working Papers & interviews with executives & analysts. Coverage is international with content including business & management, accounting & finance, HR management, marketing and economics. It also covers engineering, health, social studies, some business law and includes full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Accessibility information for British Source Ultimate
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full-text database containing journal articles and book chapters from thousands of journals and ebooks. The majority of content is published by Elsevier. Subjects covered include science, technology, business, management, accounting, health sciences, engineering and social science.
Accessibility information for ScienceDirect
Full-text access is to subscribed content only
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
Accessibility information for Web of Science
SCOPUS
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Accessibility information for SCOPUS
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content includes the subject areas of accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.
Accessibility information for Emerald Insight
WARC
International market research database covering peer-reviewed journals, case studies, WARC briefings & best practice guides on marketing strategy & implementation, research papers, media & advertising data and market context analysis. Includes Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research, International Journal of Advertising & the International Journal of Market Research.
Accessibility information for WARC
© and database right Warc Limited and/or its licensors 2024. All warranties and liabilities disclaimed to the fullest extent permitted by law.

User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. For access to the user guides, non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Greenleaf Online Library (GOL)
GOL is a collection of books and journals in the fields of sustainability, business ethics, responsible management and accountability. GOL also includes content from the United Nations Global Compact, and the Greenleaf/PRME (Principles for Responsible Management Education) series.
Accessibility information for Greenleaf Online Library
The Greenleaf Online Library has moved to the Taylor & Francis e-book platform.

Journals, articles and research for Business

This guide will help you find the following types of material:

Journals: an academic or scholarly journal where researchers publish peer-reviewed articles. They can be general or cover niche subjects. New issues come out several times a year.
Journal Articles: peer-reviewed articles appear in academic journals, and cover recent research from academics around the world. Your lecturers want you to use this type of article in literature reviews and other academic writing.
Working Papers: working versions of journal articles, before peer-review, are released on websites like SSRN so that other academics can comment on them before they are published.
Trade publications: specialist magazines aimed at working professionals rather than academics. Articles are often written by journalists and practitioners, and cover news and practical information, with industry-specific advertising.
Grey Literature: many institutions release research and other documents that are not published in academic journals, but that are reliable and/or useful resources. For instance, a report published by a government department, a charity or the NHS would be grey literature.

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods online provides information on research methods in social sciences. It includes research methods e-books and is designed to address questions that arise during the various steps of the research process.

Sage Campus
A collection of 34 self-paced courses covering critical skills and research methods that can be applied across all stages of academic study. Topic areas; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.
Accessibility information for Sage Campus
Register with a City email address
SAGE Research Methods online
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) provides information on research methods in health and social sciences. It includes several hundred research methods e-books and is aimed at students and academics and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process.
Accessibility information for Sage Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods Cases
SAGE Research Methods Cases (SRMC) is a collection of case studies of real social research that can be used in teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
Accessibility information for Sage Research Methods Cases
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video contains over 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, interviews with expert researchers, and more, covering every step of the research process.
Accessibility information for Sage Research Methods Video

Can't find the paper you need?

Order an InterLibrary Loan
Recommend a book
Find at another library

Journals, articles and research for Business

Your Subject Librarians

Undergraduates

Andrew Medder

Robin Hobbs

Postgraduates

Emilia Brzozowska-Szczecina

Business Library Online Resources: Finding Articles and Academic Research (video)

Support for dissertations and projects - books

Academic resources for Business

Journals, articles and research for Business

SAGE Research Methods

Can't find the paper you need?

Journals, articles and research for Business

Your Subject Librarians

Undergraduates

Andrew Medder

Robin Hobbs

Postgraduates

Emilia Brzozowska-Szczecina

Business Library Online Resources: Finding Articles and Academic Research (video)

Support for dissertations and projects - books

Academic resources for Business

Journals, articles and research for Business

SAGE Research Methods

Can't find the paper you need?​

Can't find the paper you need?