Library Guides: Journals, articles and research for Business: Finding journal articles

Academic resources for Business

Search these databases for articles on your topic. When you get your results, use the filter marked 'Academic', 'Scholarly', or 'Peer-reviewed' to find academic journal articles only.

ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and the Economist.
Accessibility information for ProQuest One Business
Also covers ProQuest Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
Business Source Ultimate
Provides access to journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT Analysis, Working Papers & interviews with executives & analysts. Coverage is international with content including business & management, accounting & finance, HR management, marketing and economics. It also covers engineering, health, social studies, some business law and includes full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Accessibility information for British Source Ultimate
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full-text database containing journal articles and book chapters from thousands of journals and ebooks. The majority of content is published by Elsevier. Subjects covered include science, technology, business, management, accounting, health sciences, engineering and social science.
Accessibility information for ScienceDirect
Full-text access is to subscribed content only
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
Accessibility information for Web of Science
SCOPUS
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Accessibility information for SCOPUS
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content includes the subject areas of accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.
Accessibility information for Emerald Insight
WARC
International market research database covering peer-reviewed journals, case studies, WARC briefings & best practice guides on marketing strategy & implementation, research papers, media & advertising data and market context analysis. Includes Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research, International Journal of Advertising & the International Journal of Market Research.
Accessibility information for WARC
© and database right Warc Limited and/or its licensors 2024. All warranties and liabilities disclaimed to the fullest extent permitted by law.

User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. For access to the user guides, non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Greenleaf Online Library (GOL)
GOL is a collection of books and journals in the fields of sustainability, business ethics, responsible management and accountability. GOL also includes content from the United Nations Global Compact, and the Greenleaf/PRME (Principles for Responsible Management Education) series.
Accessibility information for Greenleaf Online Library
The Greenleaf Online Library has moved to the Taylor & Francis e-book platform.

General academic databases

These online resources contain business articles and much more, covering a wide range of subjects studied at universities.

CityLibrary Search
CityLibrary Search covers most of the books, journal articles and trade press articles in Business Library's collection. It also searches resources from other subjects studied at City, University of London, so it is great for interdisciplinary research.

Cambridge Journals Online
Provides online access to Cambridge University Press's collection of over 200 journals in science, social sciences and humanities.
Accessibility information for Cambridge Journals Online
Directory of Open Access Journals
Is an open access collection of full text scientific and scholarly journals. It aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Accessibility information for DOAJ
IngentaConnect
Ingentaconnect contains a large collection of academic and professional research articles, covering a wide range of subjects and publishers.
Accessibility information for IngentaConnect
Ingenta is a database that allows you locate references from around recent 30,000 publications, with some links to full text resources. Subjects covered include arts, food sciences, computer and information science, economics and business, technology, mathematics, nursing, psychology and social sciences, amongst others.
JSTOR
Is an archive of important scholarly journals and e-books in the the arts, business and economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine and allied health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
Accessibility information for JSTOR
Oxford University Press Journals
Publisher website hosting Oxford University Press journals.
ProQuest Databases
ProQuest Databases is a multi-discipline host platform providing access to the various research databases, newspaper and magazine archives hosted by ProQuest.
Accessibility information for ProQuest Databases
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is a full-text database of journals, e-books and lecture notes in computer science and mathematics published by Springer. Subjects covered by journals and e-books include business and management, computer science, economics, education, engineering, geography, history, law, literature, materials science, mathematics, medicine & public health, philosophy, physics, political science and international relations, psychology, social sciences and statistics.
Accessibility information for SpringerLink
Full-text acces is to subscribed content only
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources including books, journal articles, reference works and laboratory protocols and citations. It covers health and physical sciences, life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Accessibility information for Wiley Online Library

Academic resources for related subjects

These databases will help you find articles in common areas of interdisciplinary research. You can also visit the library guides for other subjects to find more online resources.

IEEE Xplore
Provides access to content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). It contains full text of almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science, including highly-cited peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings and standards and some archive material from the 1880s.
Accessibility information for IEEE Xplore
APA PsycArticles
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Accessibility information for APA PsycArticles
HeinOnline
Provides full text access to law and law-related journal articles from many US, UK and international publications. It also includes US historical legal material, UN treaties and agreements, the English Reports (cases decided in England from 1220 to 1867), the Statutes of the Realm (legislation passed at Westminster between 1235-1713), world constitutions & Women and the Law materials.
Accessibility information for HeinOnline
HeinOnline does not always give you access to the most recent year of the publication.
Columbia International Affairs Online
Is an archive of articles, working papers, and policy briefs from government research organisations, independent think tanks and university analysis centres.
Accessibility information for Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
EconLit with Full Text
Published by the American Economic Association, Econlit with full-text covers all fields of economics, including: capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, and labour economic.
Accessibility information for EconLit with Full Text

How can I tell if a journal article has been peer-reviewed?

Use the 'Academic', 'Scholarly' or 'Peer-reviewed' button in your search results.

Check the journal's homepage. Search online for the title of the journal, and the homepage will usually tell you.

Ask your librarian!

What does peer-review mean? (video)

Can't find the paper you need?

Order an InterLibrary Loan
Recommend a book
Find at another library

Journals, articles and research for Business