Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Financial Information

 

Top Financial Databases

Financial Information

What's available

Companies are required to release a certain amount of financial information on a regular basis. How much information they disclose depends on a number of factors, including:

  • In which country they're incorporated
  • Whether or not they're publicly listed on a stock exchange

Publicly listed companies must release more information than private companies, which can make it a challenge to find certain types of financial data for private companies.

Cass Library Services provides access to a wide range of financial data for both public and private companies. It's accessible across a range of platforms on site and from your own computer.

Where to access financial databases

On site: at one of the Financial Resources sites - at Cass:

At Northampton Square, Financial Resources Suite

How to access financial databases

If it's on site, you will need to either use credentials or create your own. If it's off site, then you can access financial databases on your own computer, often your own Cass username and password are all you need.

Sometimes database require specialist access arrangements. You can find these on the Cass Library Moodle page.

Support, Training and Certification

Support

Support for Financial Databases on site can often be found on the desktop or in the database instructions next to the terminal. Bloomberg, Eikon and Morningstar run certification training. 

Training

Training on these databases is held periodically during term and can be booked on the Library Training and Workshops calendar. Training sessions focuses on specific areas for particular student groups, as laid out in the description. Training on the Library Training and Workshops calendar is open to all City students.

Certification

Bloomberg Certification is run through a module called Bloomberg Market Concepts. It consists of four modules, is self-paced and free when taken on a Bloomberg terminal. To begin, login to a Bloomberg terminal type BMC and press <GO>. Bloomberg estimates it takes eight hours to complete. Users can stop at any point and pick up where they left off. 

Eikon certification and training takes place online. To get started, visit http://www.training.thomsonreuters.com/ and select Eikon. 

Morningstar certification can be