These databases are updated daily and can be used to search UK and international news from the 1980s onwards. You can search within one publication or save time by searching across a range of sources.
Nexis UK and Factiva let you access newspapers which are normally restricted by paywalls, such as The Times (London) and the New York Times.
Is a news database which offers national, regional and international news from a range of sources on various subjects emphasising on business and industry, including company and industry reports. Its content is updated daily and many titles have a 20 year archive.
Limitation - You may only download a single copy of insubstantial portions of those Materials included in any individually searchable file or content source in the Online Services. Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only. See details below for more information.
Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes. Text data mining is not permitted within our Nexis UK licence.
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
Provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.
Limitation - Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only. Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence. See details below for more information.
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 30 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
PressReader provides interactive, digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world including titles in over 50+ languages. Useful for studying page layout, advertisements, photographs, etc. PressReader archives provide access to the last year of most publications.
Limitation Please use the web version of PressReader, linked here.
Selection of the FBIS Daily Reports. The reports translated into English and covering the period 1974-1996 are transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from countries around the world.
Gives access to the daily news focusing on international business and economics. It also provides access to company and market data as well as the FT ePaper which is the digital replica of the Financial Times printed newspaper from different countries including UK, Asia and USA.
Digitised archive of The Telegraph newspaper. This first release of the database contains 54% of content from across the 1855-2016 date range. Content from the 1980s onwards is almost complete, the main gap being between 1940 and 1952. Content will continue to be added until the archive is complete.
Covers weekly commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news including economics, political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. It provides access to every issue of ‘The Economist’ from 1843 to 2020.
Provides a complete access to the Financial Times newspaper from 1888-2016. Content includes UK & international business, finance, economic & political news, comments & analysis. A trusted research tool for everyone studying the economic and business history.
Searchable, full text access to The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), includes topics on wars, industrial developments, arts, culture, business, sports and more.
PressReader provides interactive, digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world including titles in over 50+ languages. Useful for studying page layout, advertisements, photographs, etc. PressReader archives provide access to the last year of most publications.
Limitation Please use the web version of PressReader, linked here.
Rock's Backpages is an online database of rock music writing. Sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press, it is a library of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Vogue Archive