Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Financial Information

Information about our financial databases. Please use the menu on the left to explore the guide. Contact your librarian if you need help or advice.

COVID-19 arrangements

During the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic access to some site-based databases is not possible. Our Remote Access to Business Databases Guide gives information about web accessible resources which provide similar information.

Using Financial Resources on Site

Some specialist resources are only available on fixed PCs at the Business School and the Northampton Square Library. These must be booked in advance.

The Business Library has a broad portfolio of financial databases. Some can only be accessed on site. You must book financial resource PCs in advance. They can be found at the following locations:

The Business School, Bunhill Row 

  • Business Library, Financial Resources Zone 
    • Bloomberg (see note below)
    • Eikon with Datastream
    • Morningstar Direct
    • SDC Platinum
    • DebtWire
    • MergerMarket
    • Activistmonitor
    • Real Deals
  • Refinitv Trading Room
    • Eikon with Datastream

Northampton Square Library

  • Financial Resources Suite - Currently closed
    • Bloomberg (see note below)
    • Eikon with Datastream
    • Morningstar Direct
    • SDC Platinum

Bloomberg

Following changes to the Bloomberg Disaster Recovery access model, from 5th July 2021 all Bloomberg access will be available remotely and it will no longer be possible to book a Bloomberg terminal on campus.

You can continue to use Bloomberg from on-campus terminals (PCs 7-12) in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library but we cannot guarantee that Bloomberg will be available from these terminals. We recommend that you use the Bloomberg Remote Access icon on the terminal desktop, rather than logging onto Bloomberg as normal.

Why use financial resources on site?

Most of our databases online contain the basic financial data most students need. Financial databases on-site contain data that is more in-depth, wide-ranging and historical than most of the browser-based financial databases.

Many of these databases are commonly used in the workplace, and having an understanding of how to use them, or better yet, certification, is an advantage when applying for jobs.

Booking 

You must book financial resource PCs in advance. They can be booked for up to two hours per day, up to two weeks in advance. They can only be booked for the use of financial resources. 

Users arriving more than 15 minutes late to their booking will lose their full booking period.

Training and support

Support for Financial Databases on-site can often be found on the desktop or user guides can be found in Library Services on Moodle. Bloomberg, Eikon and Morningstar run certification training. Please see the sections below for more information.

Training on these databases is held periodically during the term and can be booked on the Library Training and Workshops calendar. Training sessions focus on specific areas for particular student groups, as laid out in the description. Training on the Library Training and Workshops calendar is open to all City students.

Bloomberg

Bloomberg is a global financial markets database providing news, analytics and real-time data for over 5 million securities world-wide, plus extensive historical data, including pricing and stock charts.

Following changes to the Bloomberg Disaster Recovery access model, from 5th July 2021 all Bloomberg access will be available remotely and it will no longer be possible to book a Bloomberg terminal on campus.

You can continue to use Bloomberg from on-campus terminals (PCs 7-12) in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library but we cannot guarantee that Bloomberg will be available from these terminals. We recommend that you use the Bloomberg Remote Access icon on the terminal desktop, rather than logging onto Bloomberg as normal.

Learning to use Bloomberg

Bloomberg has a unique interface that is designed to help users quickly find and use information.

You need to set up your own Bloomberg account to use it. Please email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for instructions.

If you have forgotten your Bloomberg username or password

If you have an account but have lost the details, go to the log in screen and follow the Forgotten your password instructions. If your account has become inactive, enter your username and password and follow the instructions on the screen.  

To retrieve Bloomberg account information, you will need access to the mobile phone number associated with your account.

Bloomberg Excel add-in

Bloomberg has a useful Excel add-in that allows you to export data from the terminal easily.

If you are accessing Bloomberg from your own pc or using the Bloomberg Remote Access icon on the terminal desktop, you need to select the ‘Launch with the Bloomberg Excel add-in’ option and not ‘Launch just the Bloomberg Terminal.’

If you are accessing Bloomberg from the desktop icon in the Financial Resources Zone, you will need to set it up in your profile by going to the desktop of any Bloomberg PC and double-clicking the Install office add-ins icon. Click Install when prompted.

Once you have installed the add-in, it will work when you log into any of our Bloomberg terminals.

The add-in will allow you to export data from Bloomberg to Excel and to use various pre-set templates and a formula builder to import data into Excel. 

You can also use Bloomberg Query Language (BQL) which is an SQL-like language that will allow you to perform your own calculations in the Bloomberg cloud.

Use the Bloomberg Getting Started Guide for Students 

Bloomberg Getting Started Guide for Students is available in Business Library Services Moodle module. Non Business students should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for a copy of the guide.

The guide illustrates the basic principles of navigating Bloomberg and the Bloomberg Excel add-in using relevant and accessible information for new users.

For basic help with using the terminal, type the code HELP and then press <GO> (the enter key).  Using HLPT then <GO> will access the Help Library, which has guidance on a range of Bloomberg topics.

Press the HELP key (F1 on the keyboard) to access contextual help for the function you’re currently looking at.

You can also attend a Bloomberg university webinar. These cover Commodities, Equities, FX, Fixed Income, using the PORT function to create a test portfolio, Islamic Finance, and using Bloomberg Query Language (BQL).

Take it to the next level with Bloomberg Market Concepts

Bloomberg Market Concepts is a specialised training programme run by Bloomberg that teaches you about financial markets and how to use Bloomberg to access them.  You can take it online via any PC or through the Bloomberg terminal by typing in BMC <GO>. Find out how to sign up:

How to get started with Bloomberg Market Concepts - Bloomberg Certification

Modules include:

  • Getting started with the terminal
  • Economic indicators
  • Currencies
  • Fixed Income
  • Equities
  • Portfolio management

Try our tips and tricks 

Bloomberg is full of extra help materials. Try the following codes – type them in and press <GO> (the enter key):

  • BHL: the Bloomberg Help and Learning Centre.
  • BPS: quick guides to functions for different market sectors.
  • QUIC: a list of Bloomberg Quick-Takes articles to help you keep up to date and understand various topics.
  • BU: find and enrol in webinars and training resources.
  • USER: workflows and useful Bloomberg function for specific professional roles.

Bloomberg can also assist in your job hunt. Try the following codes:

  • PEOP: a people database that you can filter for things like job role and alumni of particular schools.
  • JOBS: a jobs search for the finance industry.
  • BI: an industry explorer to help you with application and interview research. 

Finding Bloomberg articles 

You can find articles from Bloomberg.com, Bloomberg Businessweek and Bloomberg News on the Bloomberg terminals themselves, using the code N < GO> for news.

You can also find a lot of those articles from any computer, through our aggregator databases. Find Bloomberg Businessweek articles online by searching CityLibrary Search for their title or browse issues on Business Source Complete. Find a full list of additional Bloomberg Series on our Journals A-Z pages.

Eikon

Eikon is a professional platform from Refinitiv.  It includes historical and current data for equities and other asset classes including commodities, fixed income and money markets.

Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library and 6 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room at the Business School. A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first-come, first-served basis (Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00 UK time) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day. Usernames that are issued on a Friday, expire 08:00 UK time Monday. For access and further details please email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.

Datastream via Eikon

Datastream is a popular database for time series: it covers financial and company data as well as macroeconomic indicators and fixed income securities.  Students can access it via the Eikon Excel Add In. 

Morningstar

Morningstar Direct is an investment analysis platform. It provides access to 350,000 investments in Indexes, Equities, Hedge Funds, Segregated Accounts, Open-End Funds, Closed-End Funds, Insurance/Pension/Life and Exchange Traded Funds. For every investment, there is information on performance, operations, portfolio holdings, risk measure and proprietary tools.

Available on 4 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library and 9 non bookable PCs in the Business Library Study Room.

Available to access off-site. Login details and instructions available in Business Library Services Moodle module. Password will be updated weekly. Non Business School students email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for the login details and instructions.

 

How to use MorningStar Direct:

You can use MorningStar's own internal help when you are logged in.  Go to the 'Learn' section of the Home tab to find out more. Help manuals are available here: 


Specialist Resources in the Financial Resources Zone