Skip to Main Content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Food Policy

What is a database? Why should you use it?

The databases on this page allow you to search for high quality peer-reviewed journal articles from a large number of journal titles at the same time.

They can also provide information about other type of material, i.e. conference proceedings, books, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, etc.

The Library subscribes to a number of databases that you can access with your City email address. 

When you are carrying out your literature review, for both assignments and your dissertation, you may need to search more than one database to find the material relevant to your topic, as each database covers different journals.

Key databases for Food Policy

Databases available via the EBSCOhost platform

If you are performing a basic literature search for an assignment, using your own search terms, you can search as many of these databases as you wish, simultaneously on the EBSCOhost platform.

If you are performing a systematic literature review, required for your dissertation, you can only search one database at a time. This is because you will be expected to perform controlled vocabulary/Subject Heading searches in combination with your own search terms. Find demonstrations of controlled/ Subject Heading searches on our Advanced Literature Searching guide.

Name Coverage
Academic Search Ultimate A multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text articles, reports, conference proceedings and books in nearly every area of academic study. It is updated daily and contains articles going back as far as 1887.
Business Source Ultimate Provides access to journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT Analysis, Working Papers & interviews with executives & analysts. Coverage is international with content including business & management, accounting & finance, HR management, marketing and economics. It also covers engineering, health, social studies, some business law and includes full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
CINAHL Ultimate Provides full-text access to a large number of journals in nursing and allied health. It also includes quick lessons on diseases/conditions, evidence-based care sheets and CEU modules and research instruments
Food Science Source Food Science Source is a full text database providing access to articles from journals, magazines and trade publications covering issues relating to the food industry. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.
GreenFILE Database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics covered include climate change, green buildings, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy sources and recycling.
Health Policy Reference Center Covers all issues in the discipline of health policy such as health care access, health care quality, health care financing, etc.
Medline Complete Medline Complete provides access to full-text articles from journals covering a wide range of subjects including allied health, clinical care, midwifery, nursing, public health and more.
Sociology Source Ultimate Covers all areas of sociology including criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, social development, and social psychology.

 

Databases available via the Ovid Online platform

If you are performing a basic literature search for an assignment, using your own search terms, you can search as many of these databases as you wish, simultaneously on the Ovid Online platform.

If you are performing a systematic literature review, required for your dissertation, you can only search one database at a time. This is because you will be expected to perform controlled vocabulary/Subject Heading searches in combination with your own search terms. Find demonstrations of controlled/ Subject Heading searches in our Advanced Literature Searching... guide.

Name Coverage
Embase Covers all aspects of healthcare
Global Health  Database covering communicable diseases, human nutrition, community and public health issues from around the world.
Health Management Information Consortium Covers health service policy, management and administration, with an emphasis on the British National Health Service.
Social Policy and Practice  Helps researchers and students interested in health and social care to identify articles and publications of relevance to the UK context.

 

Other databases

These databases can be used for both your assignments and dissertation but only allow for free text searching (using your own search terms).

Name Coverage

AGRIS - International System for Agricultural Science and Technology

The database contains bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology reserach worldwide.
Nutrition Evidence Nutrition Evidence is the only scientific database that specialises in nutrition and lifestyle medicine, with a focus on high-quality papers selected to provide the best evidence available for clinical interventions on humans.
OECD iLibrary The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online library of statistical data, books, and journals. It focuses on economics, business, education, employment, energy, development, and environment.
SCOPUS  Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Social Systems Evidence This resource provides access to systematic reviews and economic evaluations covering areas such as poverty and hunger, economic development and growth and consumption and production.
Web of Science Web of Science is a multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching.

 

Databases covering Food Policies

Name Coverage
FAOLEX Database FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest online repositories of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management.
FAPDA Policy database A global and comprehensive database which contains over 18 000 national policy decisions and 3 000 national policy frameworks for over 150 countries around the world.
Global Database for City and Regional Food Policies The Global Database for City and Regional Food Policies is a resource for local and sub-national governments to learn about food system policies from around the globe.
The Global database on the Implementation of Nutrition Action (GINA) The Global database on the Implementation of Nutrition Action (GINA) is an interactive platform for sharing standardized information on nutrition policies and actions, i.e. what are the commitments made and who is doing what, where, when, why and how (including lessons learnt).
Healthy Food Policy Project: Policy database

A curated, searchable database of healthy food policies at the local level around the United States, analyzed by HFPP.

Local Government Food Policy database A searchable collection of local public policies that explicitly support community food systems.
NOURISHING and MOVING policy databases Developed as part of the European Union CO-CREATE project, Confronting obesity: co-creating policy with youth, the databases contain information about nutrition and physical activity policy that governments around the world have implemented to encourage people to eat healthily and move more.

WCRF International’s NOURISHING database has been redesigned as part of the CO-CREATE project. The MOVING database of physical policy actions has been developed to complement the NOURISHING database and contains information about policies designed to promote physical activity. The policy actions are categorised and organised around our NOURISHING and MOVING policy frameworks.

Databases for Market Research

Name Coverage
Euromonitor Passport  This online market research tool monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis, market size and market share data across key countries and industries. It also includes demographic and economic data and packaging information.
MarketLine Advantage  International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
Mintel

UK Market research reports with a rolling two years' data. The focus is on consumer markets including a specialist coverage of the financial sector.

Mintel Market Sizes  Mintel Market Sizes provides global market data such as market size, market share, market forecasts and segmentation. It covers
a number of industries such as: automotive, clothing, energy, finance, media, pharmaceuticals and many more.

 

Databases for Company Information

Name Coverage Limitations
Business Source Complete Provides access to journal articles, market research, company profiles, country reports and other reports. Coverage is international, contents are mostly in business & management, accounting & finance, HR management, marketing and economic but it also covers engineering, health, social studies and some business law. It includes Harvard Business Review.  
ProQuest Business Collection The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong US and international coverage in business and the social sciences.  
Factiva Factiva provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade
press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.
Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only.
Nexis UK Nexis UK is a news database which offers national, regional and international news from a range of sources on various subjects emphasising on business and industry, including company and industry reports. Its content is updated daily and many titles have a 20 year archive. You may only download a single copy of insubstantial portions of those Materials included in any individually searchable file or content source in the Online Services. Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only. See details below for more information.

Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes.
IBISWorld IBISWorld has a broad collection of UK, US, China and Global-level research reports for over 400 industries. Please note that there is a download limit of 25 reports per session.  Specialized Industry Reports are not available as part of our subscription.

Databases for Industry Information

Name Coverage Limitations
IBISWorld IBISWorld has a broad collection of UK, US, China and Global-level research reports for over 400 industries. Please note that there is a download limit of 25 reports per session. Specialized Industry Reports are not available as part of our subscription.
Business Source Complete  Provides access to journal articles, market research, company profiles, country reports and other reports. Coverage is international, contents are mostly in business & management, accounting & finance, HR management, marketing and economic but it also covers engineering, health, social studies and some business law. It includes Harvard Business Review.  
Factiva Factiva provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade
press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.
 
Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only.