Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Doing postgraduate research

Covers the steps involved in performing a literature search for a postgraduate dissertation or research paper. Help is available through written guides; videos and links.

Pre-Recorded Workshops

The Library usually delivers a programme of workshops, which students and researchers can sign up for, covering the steps involved in performing a literature search for a MSc/PhD dissertation or for research papers.

As face-to-face teaching is currently not allowed due to social distancing rules these workshops will be available on this page as pre-recorded presentations.

Formulating your research question (video)

This presentation takes you through the steps in developing a relevant and answerable research question for your dissertation or research paper.

Further details can be found in Step 1 of this guide.

 

Performing a scoping search to validate your proposed research question (video)

This presentations covers why you need to perform a scoping search and analyses the key resources you can use.

Links to these resources, and videos demonstrating how to use them, can be found in this guide on the Performing a Scoping Search page.

 

Developing your search strategy (video)

This presentation takes you through the steps involved in developing a search strategy before you begin your literature search.

Further information, and links to video demonstrations, are available in Step 2 of this guide.

 

Advanced literature searching techniques using health databases in EBSCOhost and Ovid Online (video)

This presentation covers how to perform an advanced literature search, using a combination of Subject Heading (MeSH) searching and Keyword (free text searching), when searching health databases in the EBSCOhost and Ovid Online platforms.

Further information, and video demonstrations, can be found on the Searching Databases page of this guide.

 

Supplementing your database searches to find more information for your research question (video)

This presentation demonstrates how you can supplement the searches you performed using databases in the EBSCOhost and Ovid Online platforms by using other resources.

This includes:

  • finding more studies by using other databases
  • performing what is known as 'citation and reference tracking'
  • finding 'grey literature' such as conference proceedings and official reports.

Further information, and video demonstrations, can be found under Step 4 of this guide.

Keeping up to date with your research (video)

This presentation covers resources and tools which you can use to ensure you keep up to date with research relating to your research question. These include:

  • Database search alerts.
  • Journal Table of Contents alerts.
  • Current awareness and news resources.

Further help, including video demonstrations, is available in the Keeping Up To Date page on this guide.

 

 

Remember, if you need more help covering these tasks you can book an appointment with a Health Librarian. If you only have a quick question or two you can email Steve O'Driscoll, the School of Health Sciences Research Librarian s.odriscoll@city.ac.uk, or if you prefer to speak to someone, join one of our School of Health Sciences Librarian Online Office Hours drop in sessions.