Library Guides: Citing and referencing for business: Harvard style citing and referencing

Harvard style citing and referencing

Harvard style citations are in-text citations using the author's surname and the year the resource was published, like this: (Clifford, 2018).

At the end of the work, a list of references appears in alphabetical order in the Reference List, so that readers can look up a particular author and find the full details of their work.

Sample text and reference list using the Harvard Style
An example of how Harvard Style citations and references look in your work.
Basics of referencing section on Cite Them Right Online

Cite Them Right

Harvard Style references can be laid out in a number of ways. Library Services recommends using the Cite Them Right standard for Harvard Style references.

Cite them right online
Is a comprehensive online guide to referencing. It will help you to reference books, journals, articles, websites and other materials for your studies or research and understand how to avoid plagiarism. It includes guidance and examples for a number of different referencing styles, especially Harvard.
Accessibility information for Cite Them Right Online

Cite Them Right is also available as a print book:

Cite Them Right by Richard Pears; Graham Shields
Call Number: 808.027 PEA
ISBN: 9781352005134
Publication Date: 2019-05-10
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.

Other useful books for referencing

Research Methods for Business Students by Mark Saunders; Philip Lewis; Adrian Thornhill
Call Number: 650.072 SAU
ISBN: 1292208783
Publication Date: 2019
Appendix 1 of the Saunders contains an overview of referencing different types of materials in Harvard Referencing Style as well as brief notes for how different types of materials should be used.
Business Research Methods by Alan Bryman; Emma Bell
Call Number: 658.0072 BRY
ISBN: 9780199668649
Publication Date: 2015
Chapter 5 'Getting started: reviewing the literature' provides a context for referencing and the bibliography. There is a section that discuses using bibliographic software, like RefWorks. Bryman and Bell provide some context for citing and referencing in Harvard.
Essential Study and Employment Skills for Business and Management Students. by Kevin Gallagher
Call Number: 658.0071 GAL
ISBN: 9780198724001
Publication Date: 2016
Chapter 5 of this book, 'Locating Information and Smart Search Skills', has an excellent section on how to cite and reference sources
Academic Writing by Stephen Bailey
Call Number: 808.0428 BAI
ISBN: 9781138048744
Publication Date: 2018
Unit 1.8 covers referencing and using quotes. It explains different systems of references and they should appear in reference lists.
Doing Essays and Assignments by Pete Greasley
Call Number: 808.066 GRE
ISBN: 9781473912076
Publication Date: 2016
This title gives very straightforward practical advice for what sorts of references to include in your work and what tutors look for in your work as a whole. It is written in very accessible langue and suitable from both undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Laying out references to common source types

These types of sources are frequently referenced. Follow the link to see how to lay out a Harvard Style reference to them.

Citing and referencing company and financial markets information

Cite Them Right Online offers a few options for citing and referencing the kind of material you find in Company Information and Financial Markets databases:

Financial reports from online databases
Use this option for databases with a web address like Fame, Mergent, or WRDS
Reports from other databases with no URL
Use this format when citing and referencing databases like Bloomberg or Eikon, which have no URL for you to refer to.
Company annual reports
Use this option when you are referring to Annual Reports published directly by a company.
Research reports
Many institutions produce reports that can be used in your work. Use this layout to reference them.

Citing and referencing market research

There are several useful options for citing and referencing Market Research and Statistics:

Market research reports from online databases
Great for written reports from databases like Mintel, Marketline and IBISWorld.
Research reports
Many institutions produce reports that can be used in your work. Use this layout to reference them.
Government publications
Use this layout if you are citing demographic statistics from a government department or other large institution.