Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

SMCSE Business and Financial Information

COVID-19 arrangements

During the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic access to some site-based databases is not possible. Our Remote Access to Business Databases Guide gives information about web accessible resources which provide similar information.

Key Financial Databases

Check privacy policies before submitting personal data when using online resources. Find out more on our Personal Data and Online Resources Page

Your Personal Data

Check privacy policies before submitting personal data when using online resources. Find out more on our Personal Data and Online Resources Page.

Financial Information

What's available

Companies are required to release a certain amount of financial information on a regular basis. How much information they disclose depends on a number of factors, including:

  • In which country they're incorporated
  • Whether or not they're publicly listed on a stock exchange

Publicly listed companies must release more information than private companies, which can make it a challenge to find certain types of financial data for private companies.

The Business Library provides access to a wide range of financial data for both public and private companies. It's accessible across a range of platforms on site and from your own computer.

Where to access financial databases

On site: at one of the Financial Resources sites - at the Business School:

At Northampton Square, Financial Resources Suite

How to access financial databases

If it's on site, you will need to either use credentials or create your own. If it's off-site, then you can access financial databases on your own computer, often your own City username and password are all you need.

Sometimes database require specialist access arrangements. You can find these on the Business Library Moodle page.

Quick access to share prices

Do you just need stock prices for a small number of companies? If you need basic prices and analysis but don't require the power of comprehensive resources like Bloomberg or Eikon, these resources have markets data and can be accessed from any computer.

Support, Training & Certification Support

Support for Financial Databases on site can often be found on the desktop or in the database instructions next to the terminal. Bloomberg, Eikon and Morningstar run certification training (see below). 

Training

Training on these databases is held periodically during term and can be booked on the Library Training and Workshops calendar. Training sessions focuses on specific areas for particular student groups, as laid out in the description. Training on the Library Training and Workshops calendar is open to all City students.

Certification

Bloomberg, Morningstar and Eikon all offer free, self-paced, certificated courses that provide a valuable introduction to financial markets and are useful additions to your CV.

  • Bloomberg Certification - this course takes ~8 hours to complete and progress is saved automatically. After finishing BMC, Bloomberg provides a "Certificate of Completion". To begin, login to a Bloomberg terminal, type BMC and press <GO>. Alternatively, BMC can be taken on your own computer. You can stop at any point and pick up where you left off. For support getting started with BMC follow the linked instructions. 
  • Eikon certification and training - to get started, visit the Thomsom Reuters Training page and select Eikon. 
  • Morningstar certification can be found on the Morningstar terminal under Learning Center.