Library guides: Finding books and journal articles: Journal articles

Finding journal articles

Library Search
Search for a particular title, author or keyword. Check which journals are available in print or electronically. Use the drop down to search only for Articles. Or browse Journals A-Z.
Law Databases A-Z
Utilise the 29 legal databases available, many of which host journal articles.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw's Legal Journals Index contains details of UK legal periodicals back to 1986, with over half a million article abstracts. It is a useful discovery tool for finding relevant articles on a topic. You can then use CityLibrary Search to check if we have access via another database or in print.
UK cases, legislation and law reports.

Lexis+
Access to over 126 full-text legal journals, with thousands of full-text articles.
It incorporates and replaces both the previous Lexis Library (cases, legislation, articles, Halsbury’s Laws of England, Blackstone’s Criminal Practice, All England Law Reports and more) and Lexis Practical Guidance (practitioner database with practice notes and practical legal research sources). Includes access to Lexis' Smart Forms.
HeinOnline
Full access to law and law-related journal articles from many US, UK and international publications.
HeinOnline does not always give you access to the most recent year of the publication.

HeinOnline Guide to the Law Journal Library
This guide includes tips and advice on how to get the most out of HeinOnline's Law Journal Library.
Google Scholar
Search for freely available articles by using Google Scholar. When off campus, click Settings then Library links and type in City, University of London. If we subscribe to a resource you will see an ‘Is it @ City Library?’ link on the right hand side.
more...less...
In order to carry out more refined searches on Google Scholar, remember to click on the downward arrow in the search box to access 'Advanced Scholar Search'.