Library guides: News and current affairs: News and current affairs

News databases

Factiva
Access to international newspapers, trade publications, magazines and websites in over 23 languages, including Chinese simplified and Arabic. Particularly useful for business and industry news and information.
Nexis UK
Database with access to over 12,000 news sources, newspapers, newsletters, magazines and trade journals including over 450 international publications, with over 250 newswires updated continuously.

PressReader
Provides digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse entire editions making it useful for studying page layout etc.
PressReader provides access to the last year of most publications. App available: Setting up the PressReader App

FT.Com

We have a subscription to the FT.com website, giving you access to all of the site including apps for phones and tablets, up-to-date news and information, and all the FT's articles.

FT.com gives access to the daily news focusing on international business and economics. It also provides access to company and market data as well as the FT ePaper, which is the digital replica of the Financial Times printed newspaper from different countries including UK, Asia and USA.

Sign up with your City email address. Further assistance is available from the Library Help Desk.

Current affairs

Current Awareness from Inner Temple
View Inner Temple Library's current awareness feed for the latest legal news.
The Economist
The Economist Online offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. The website publishes all articles from The Economist print edition (including those printed only in British copies) and maintains a searchable online archive that dates back to June 1997.

Factiva
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation:
- The length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only.
- Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence.

Foreign Affairs
Journal covering international politics and other issues.
Guardian Law
The law section of the Guardian website, including the latest legal news and opinions.
Law in Action
Law in Action's is a BBC Radio 4 series offering analysis of legal stories.
Legal Journals and Newsletters
You should keep up to date with legal publications, e.g. Counsel, Family Law Week, Criminal Law Review. Many of these titles are available in hardcopy in the Library and also online through the Library's databases. Lexis+ and Westlaw both allow you to set up alerts for recent articles on a particular subject.
Newsnight
Newsnight is a weekday BBC Television current affairs programme.

Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
- Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
- Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
- The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
- For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.

Practical Law current awareness RSS feeds
RSS feeds with the latest news from a large range of legal sectors.
more...less...
Sign in using the 'Log in with OpenAthens' option and then 'Find your organisation' on the right hand side to access this resource.

PressReader
Provides digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse entire editions making it useful for studying page layout etc.
PressReader provides access to the last year of most publications. App available: Setting up the PressReader App

Recent Cases
You can search Westlaw and Lexis+ for recent cases in a practice area, and also look at their Current Awareness sections for recent developments.
X (formally Twitter)
Many practitioners, commentators and professional organisations have X (formally Twitter) accounts. Even if you do not tweet it can be useful to have an account in order to keep up to date.

Practical Law
Up to date current awareness in its monthly PLC Magazine
Please sign in using the 'Log in with OpenAthens' option and then 'Find your organisation' on the right hand side to access this resource.

Law Society Junior Solicitors
The Junior Solicitors Network, the community for solicitor apprentices, LPC/SPP students, LPC/SPP graduates, trainee solicitors and solicitors up to five years' qualified.
The Lawyer
Legal guides, white papers and thought leadership from The Lawyer’s third-party contributors, plus a curated top legal briefings of the week. You need to register to read the Briefings and to receive alerts, which is free.
Roll on Friday
A British website designed for and used by those involved in the legal profession, from law students to qualified solicitors and barristers including Queen's Counsel. Its readership includes journalists and others from outside the profession, as well as a large number of practising lawyers.
Legal Cheek
News, market insight and legal careers section
Legal Women UK
A magazine for all UK women in law and legal services, providing networking, resources and events to encourage and support.