Library Guides: Newspapers and magazines: Historical newspapers and magazines

Digital archives

Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2016
Digitised pages of the Daily Mail complete from 1896-2016. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility information for Daily Mail Historical Archive
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Covers weekly commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news including economics, political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments.
It provides access to every issue of ‘The Economist’ from 1843 to 2020.
Accessibility information for Economist Historical Archive
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Provides a complete access to the Financial Times newspaper from 1888-2021. Content includes UK & international business, finance, economic & political news, comments & analysis. A trusted research tool for everyone studying the economic and business history.
Accessibility information for Financial Times Historical Archive
Guardian and Observer Archive, The
Searchable, full text access to The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), includes topics on wars, industrial developments, arts, culture, business, sports and more.
Accessibility information for Historical Newspapers:The Guardian and the Observer, 1791-2003
Independent Historical Archive, 1986-2016
Full digital archive of The Independent newspaper from 1986-2016.
Accessibility information for Independent Historical Archive
New York Times Archive with Index 1851-2019, The
Includes topics on wars, industrial developments, arts, culture, business, sports and more.
Accessibility information for New York Times Archive
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2021
Digitised archive of The Sunday Times, 1822-2021. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility information for Sunday Times Historical Archives
Telegraph Historical Archive
Digitised archive of The Telegraph newspaper. This first release of the database contains 54% of content from across the 1855-2016 date range. Content from the 1980s onwards is almost complete, the main gap being between 1940 and 1952. Content will continue to be added until the archive is complete.
Accessibility information for Telegraph Historical Archive
Times Digital Archive; 1785-2019
Digitised pages of The Times complete from 1785-2019. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility information for Times Digital Archive
See also: Sunday Times Digital Archive
Washington Post, The
Searchable full-text access from 1877 to 2006.
Accessibility information for Washington Post

Magazines

Rock's Backpages
Rock's Backpages is an online database of rock music writing. Sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press, it is a library of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day.
Accessibility information for Rock's Backpages

Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Gale Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources is a dynamic search platform which allows you to cross-search the content of The Daily Mail Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive, The Sunday Times Historical Archive, The Telegraph Historical Archive, The Independent Historical Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive and The Economist Historical Archive.

You can print, email, and download your search results, and you can create an account with Primary Sources to save and tag your research.

Search tips

Use Term Clusters to see terms that commonly occur in relation to your own search term. This can help uncover hidden connections, or can be a helpful starting point.
Use the Term Frequency function to see the frequency of a search term in the content over time. This shows the importance of particular concepts during given periods.

Newspapers and magazines

Digital archives

Magazines

Gale Primary Sources

Search tips

How to use Gale Primary Sources