Library guides: Newspapers and magazines: Historical newspapers and magazines

Digital archives

Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2016
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Daily Mail Historical Archive
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Economist Historical Archive
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes adverts, market listings etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Financial Times Historical Archive
Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) Archive, The
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) Archive, The
Independent Historical Archive, 1986-2016
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Independent Historical Archive
New York Times Archive with Index 1851-2020, The
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for New York Times Archive
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2021
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Sunday Times Historical Archives
Telegraph Historical Archive (1855-2016)
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Telegraph Historical Archive
This archive includes both The Daily Telegraph and The Sunday Telegraph (launched in 1961).
Times Digital Archive; 1785-2019
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Times Digital Archive
See also: Sunday Times Digital Archive.
Washington Post archive (1877 - 2008), The
Searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Accessibility statement for Washington Post

Magazines

Rock's Backpages
Online database of rock music writing. Sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press, it is a library of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day.
Accessibility statement for Rock's Backpages

Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Gale Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources is a dynamic search platform which allows you to cross-search the content of The Daily Mail Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive, The Sunday Times Historical Archive, The Telegraph Historical Archive, The Independent Historical Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive and The Economist Historical Archive.

You can print, email, and download your search results, and you can create an account with Primary Sources to save and tag your research.

Search tips

Use Term Clusters to see terms that commonly occur in relation to your own search term. This can help uncover hidden connections, or can be a helpful starting point.
Use the Term Frequency function to see the frequency of a search term in the content over time. This shows the importance of particular concepts during given periods.

CityLibrary Search

Newspapers and magazines

Digital archives

Magazines

Gale Primary Sources

Search tips

How to use Gale Primary Sources