Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Newspapers and Magazines

Databases and online sources for finding current and historical newspapers.

Current newspaper collections

These databases are updated daily and can be used to search UK and international news from the 1980s onwards. 

When searching Nexis UK and Factiva you can access the full text of those newspapers which are normally restricted by paywalls, such as The Times (London) and the New York Times.

Searching news sources with Nexis UK

Nexis UK offers several powerful search options for its newspaper database.

Searching all news sources

To search all news sources, select the 'News' link in the 'Search' tab tab at the top of the screen:

The Nexis UK header bar, highlighting the 'News' search tab.

You can then either run a basic search for your search terms, or select 'Advanced Search' to build a more complex search. The Advanced Search will allow you to:

  • Select a date range.
  • Include or exclude search terms.
  • Search for a particular byline.
  • Specify where your search terms should appear (e.g. in a headline).
  • Specify the length of the article.

Searching one specific news source

To search one specific paper or news source:

  1. Select the 'News' link in the 'Search' tab tab at the top of the screen.
  2. Select the appropriate location from the 'By Region' section, under the main search bar. For example, to search the Timesselect 'Europe' and then 'United Kingdom'.
  3. Nexis will then display a list of all papers and news sources from the selected country. To search just one news source, select the name of the publication from the list. The name of the paper will be displayed at the side of the search box:The Nexis UK advanced search page for The Times (London).

You can then either run a basic search for your search terms, or select 'Advanced Search' to build a more complex search. The Advanced Search will allow you to:

  • Select a date range.
  • Include or exclude search terms.
  • Search for a particular byline.
  • Specify where your search terms should appear (e.g. in a headline).
  • Specify the length of the article.

Searching two or more news sources

To search two or more specific papers or news sources:

  1. Select the 'News' link in the 'Search' tab tab at the top of the screen.
  2. Select the appropriate location from the 'By Region' section, under the main search bar. For example, to search several UK national broadsheets, select 'Europe' and then 'United Kingdom'.
  3. Nexis will then display a list of all papers and news sources from the selected country.
  4. To search multiple news sources at once, choose the 'Select sources to search' option under the search box. This will enable checkboxes next to each title:
    The 'Select sources to search' option on Nexis UK.
  5. Locate the titles you would like to search, and select the checkbox next to each one.
  6. Once selected, each source will be applied as a search filter, and will display in the filter panel below the search box. Click the 'More' button to see a full list.A range of news sources selected on Nexis UK.

You can then either run a basic search for your search terms, or select 'Advanced Search' to build a more complex search. The Advanced Search will allow you to:

  • Select a date range.
  • Include or exclude search terms.
  • Search for a particular byline.
  • Specify where your search terms should appear (e.g. in a headline).
  • Specify the length of the article.

Getting more help searching Nexis UK

Nexis UK provides a guide to searching Nexis UK on their database that covers the different search functions. Alternatively, for personalised help with your specific search needs, book an appointment with City's Arts Subject Librarian.

FT.Com

We've arranged a subscription to the FT.com website for you, giving you access to all of the site including apps for phones and tablets, up-to-date news and information, and all the FT's articles.

To use this resource you must register for an account first. Please see the link below for instructions.

The Economist