Your Subject Librarian
Your Senior Information Assistants
Stefanie McDade
Based at: Law Library
Supports: students
Working days: Thu, Fri
Finding EU law using library resources
- The All England Law Reports (European Cases)1995-2015. Also available in print.
- European Sources OnlineFree access database containing primary sources, commentary and articles on the EU
- Lexis+Lexis+ has a collection of EU resources which can be accessed by clicking the 'Practice Areas' tab and then selecting EU Law
- Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law
Provides high-level analysis of European Union law by specialized distinguished contributors. OEEUL articles define, explain, and analyze EU law’s key legal concepts.
Accessibility statement for Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law
- WestlawWestlaw has a large collection of EU resources which can be accessed by using the EU tab or by clicking the 'international' topic and then selecting EU law.
Journals
- The Columbia Journal of European LawAvailable on HeinOnline and Lexis Library
- Common Market Law ReviewAvailable on Kluwer Law International
- European Competition Law ReviewAvailable on Westlaw
- European Foreign Affairs ReviewAvailable on HeinOnline
- European Intellectual Property ReviewAvailable on Westlaw
- European Journal of Legal StudiesOpen access publication
- European Law JournalAvailable on Academic Search Ultimate
- European Law ReviewAvailable on Westlaw
- Find-ErUse to explore the print and electronic collections of the European Commission libraries
- Maastricht Journal of European and Comparative LawAvailable on HeinOnline (coverage up to 2013 only)
- Yearbook of European LawAvailable on ABI/INFORM Collection and Oxford Journals
Quick links
- CuriaThe Court of Justice of the EU
- Eur-LexAccess to EU law, including legislation, case law, preparatory documents, and the Official Journal of the EU
- EuropaOfficial website of the EU
- European CommissionThe executive body of the EU
Brexit resources
- House of Commons Library: Brexit - a reading list of post-EU Referendum publications by Parliament and the Devolved AssembliesThis is a reading list covering Commons Library Briefings, Commons Library Blog, Lords Library Briefings, Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology, Select Committee Reports and Devolved Assembly Publications.
- The Honourable Society of the Middle Temple: UK/EU Future RelationshipThis webpage contains useful and up-to-date Brexit and UK/EU future relationship links from a wide variety of sources (including The Bar Council, the Law Societies, Chambers and law firms), plus Brexit bibliographies.
- Oxford Public International Law: Updated Debate Map - BrexitThis is an index of materials, collected by Oxford Public International Law, in relation to the legal consequences of Brexit. It draws together a range of blog entries, House of Commons Library briefing papers and articles.
- Practical Law: Brexit - Legal ImplicationsThe Practical Law database contains lots of interesting Brexit-related articles, blogs and trackers. For example, it has articles on the possible implications of Brexit on different areas of the law, so could be useful when preparing for job interviews.
EU blogs and current awareness
- EU Law AnalysisEdited by Steve Peers (co-author of the book 'European Union Law' by Barnard and Peers), this blog covers a wide range of EU related posts written by a variety of contributors.
- EU Law LiveNews, insights and analysis on EU law
- Europa European Union NewsroomThis webpage contains press releases and statements from the EU.
- European Law BlogThis blog, which is written by academics and practitioners, contains news and comment on current developments in EU case law and legislation.
- European PapersA journal and forums on European legal integration
- Financial Times Europe ExpressThis is a daily bulletin from the Financial Times, with the latest news from their Brussels bureau.
Note: You can sign up for this bulletin once you have registered for an FT account
- Institute of Advanced Legal Studies guide to keeping up-to-date with the law: EUThis helpful guide from the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies explains how you can set up RSS alerts with EUR-Lex, in particular how you can set up alerts in relation to the latest cases and legislation.
Citing and referencing EU law using OSCOLA
OSCOLA (the Oxford University Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities) provides guidance on how to cite European Union legal sources, please see in particular section 2.6 of the OSCOLA guide (PDF, 448KB).
Please note that the OSCOLA guide was produced before the creation of the European Case Law Identifier. In order to learn how to deal with the European Case Law Identifier when citing cases, please see the guidance contained in the OSCOLA FAQs section.
Citing and referencing Brexit resources using OSCOLA
Guidance for citing and referencing EU and retained EU legislation following Brexit can be found in the OSCOLA FAQs updates section.
Except in limited circumstances, retained direct EU legislation uses the same titles and citations as the EU original. This is the referencing approach taken in UK legislation creating and referring to retained EU law.
The update includes guidance on how to differentiate between EU and retained EU legislation when citing.