Library Guides: Air Transport for Distance Learning: Databases

Databases

Databases are searchable collections of academic literature.

They provide access to a wide range of scholarly content including journal articles, books or book chapters, conference proceedings, reports and much more. Subject specific databases may focus on maps, film, newspapers, standards, etc.

Help with online resources

Citing & referencing

Recommended databases for Aeronautics and Air Transport

Search the following databases to find journal articles and other literature on your research topic.

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Publications
AIAA provides access to the publications and information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science. See also: Aerospace Research Central Publications

Accessibility information for American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Publications
AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.
Compendex
Compendex provides access to over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Accessibility information for Compendex
Hosted by Engineering Village 2, the online coverage from 1969 to the present and updated weekly.

Links to other sources of information, including the United States Patent and Trademark Office records, from 1976 to date. View Compendex record
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content includes the subject areas of accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.

Accessibility information for Emerald Insight
ESDU Validated Engineering Data
Provides validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs, software, and related equations on over 1,200 specific aerospace, process, structural, and mechanical engineering topics. Also contains the Metallic Materials Data Handbook.

Accessibility information for ESDU
IEEE Xplore
Provides access to content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). It contains full text of almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science, including highly-cited peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings and standards and some archive material from the 1880s.

Accessibility information for IEEE Xplore
NASA Technical Reports Server
Freely available online resource.
This resource gives access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos are available. The types of information found in the NTRS include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full-text database containing journal articles and book chapters from thousands of journals and ebooks. The majority of content is published by Elsevier. Subjects covered include science, technology, business, management, accounting, health sciences, engineering and social science.

Accessibility information for ScienceDirect
Full-text access is to subscribed content only

You can also try our A-Z Databases List

Air Transport for Distance Learning

Databases

Recommended databases for Aeronautics and Air Transport

Useful websites