Your Subject Librarian
Your Subject Librarian
Archives
Find out about the primary sources and archives collections available at CityLibrary.Primary sources
A primary source provides a first hand account of a topic or an event from the people that experienced it.
Primary sources can include: speeches, diaries, letters, interviews, radio and television broadcasts created at the time of the event, posters, paintings, maps, photographs, pamphlets, legal and official documents, survey data, and manuscripts.
This guide highlights some of the archives you can use to access this type of material.
Digital archives
- Migration to New Worlds
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia during the Century of Immigration (c.1800-1924).
- Chatham House Online Archive
Includes the publications, speeches and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House). Useful for researchers of international affairs, diplomacy, security, economics, law and business.
- World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees
Consists of several collections of records on World War II. Together these provide many different views of World War II from the top level of military planning to the U.S. homefront and the fate of civilians in Europe.
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration to the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Documents trace the decisions of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus as well as events on the ground.
- Digital National Security Archive
Online collection of declassified records documenting U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. It covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through to the 21st century.
- ProQuest U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Parliamentary papers (primarily House of Commons) from 1660 to 2005. Also contains content from Hansard from 1803 to 2005 and Command Papers 1833-2004.
- War, State and Society
Digital archival collections in social, economics, political and cultural affairs of Britain throughout the Second World War.
- History of Feminism
Focus on the period between 1776 and 1928, and contain a wide range of primary and secondary sources on feminism.