Library Guides: Finding open access: Repositories

Institutional repositories

An institutional repository is a research database or archive containing the intellectual output of an organisation. Many universities have institutional repositories, for example City Research Online, which can be searched individually.

Examples of content include:

scholarly articles
dissertations
conference papers
datasets
working papers.

CORE searches across a range of international repository content.

OpenDOAR lists national and international repositories.

Disciplinary repositories

A disciplinary repository is a research database containing materials related to a particular subject area.

Examples of content include:

scholarly articles
dissertations
conference papers
book chapters
digital learning objects.

Examples of disciplinary repositories

SSRN
SSRN´s eLibrary provides over 1 million research papers from thousands of researchers in more than 65 disciplines.
RePEc
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it.
ArXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,989,034 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.