Library guides: Policy, reports and statistics: Health Data & Statistics

Health and Social Care statistics by topic

Reading List: Health & Social Care statistics by topic

Health Data & Statistical Resources

data.gov.uk: Health
A searchable database of governmental statistics on Health & Social Care.
Fingertips (Public Health data)
Fingertips is a large public health data collection. Data is organised into themed profiles.
Public health profiles- These profiles provide collections of indicators covering a range of public health topics. They have been developed to show local area data alongside relevant comparators.
Health trends in England- Health trends in England summarises key information about the health of people in England and how it has changed over time. It is intended to provide an overview for the public in an accessible way.
Health Survey for England publications
The Health Survey for England publication series includes links to the latest report and all previous HSE reports published by NHS England.
NHS Data Services
Find data on a variety of health topics through an A-Z list including: Emergency Care, Hospital Episodes and Mental Health data sets.
NHS England: statistical work areas
Provides statistics on a number of areas within the NHS including: A&E attendance; bed availability; dementia referral; health visitors; maternity and breastfeeding.
Office of National Statistics: Health and Social Care
The Health and Social Care section from the Office for National Statistics.
Statistics at OHID
The Office for Health Improvement and Disparities (OHID) collects and publishes statistics on public health topics.
UK adult social care statistics
A searchable database from the Government Statistical Service.

African Health Stats
Allows you to chart, map and compare key health indicators across all 55 African Union member states.
Demographic and Health Surveys Program
Collects, analyses and disseminates accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 developing countries.
European Health Information Gateway

OECD Health Statistics
Provided by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), this resource contains statistical data on health around the world including health status, healthcare quality indicators, health workforce migration and more.

WHO: Data collections
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health. Collections include:
-Food Safety Collaborative Platform
-Global Health Expenditure Database
-Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health and Ageing Portal
-Mental Health Atlas Country Profiles

Care Quality Commission surveys
Includes surveys on: adult inpatients; community mental health; children; emergency care and maternity care.
Friends and Family Test data
Gives patients the opportunity to submit feedback on how likely they are to recommend the service to their friends and family if they needed similar care or treatment.
National Cancer Patient Experience Survey
Designed to monitor national progress on cancer care, to drive local quality improvements, to assist commissioners and providers of cancer care and to inform the work of the various charities and stakeholder groups supporting cancer patients.
National Survey of Bereaved People (VOICES) Statistical bulletins
Examines the quality of care delivered in the last 3 months of life for adults who died in England.

Health Indicators

Health indicators measure the health of populations and track how well health systems are functioning.

Compendium of Population Health Indicators from NHS Digital
A collection of indicators, giving a comprehensive overview of population health at a national, regional and local level.
Indicators from Quality Watch
Quality Watch tracks more than 200 quality indicators to find out whether health and social care quality in England is getting better or worse. Searches can be refined by selecting a Domain.
NICE Indicators
Indicators from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence.