Library guides: Policy, reports and statistics: UK Government information

Introduction

The research & publications from Government and reputable Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), is often an important complement to academic literature (books and journal articles).

Information can include official governmental policies and publications, expert analysis on health issues, publications and reports from associations, charities, organisations and societies and health data & statistics.

This can be used to help with your assignments and your own professional development. Resources can also be used to find grey literature for your dissertations or doctoral research.

UK Government - Health & Social Care information

GOV.UK

The UK government website.

Health & Social Care information from GOV.UK- by topic
Find news, policy papers, guidance, research and statistics from the UK government, arranged by topic.
Health & Social Care blogs from GOV.UK
News and analysis from UK government departments.

UK Parliament research services

House of Commons Library: Research Briefings

Children & families
Covers topics such as child protection, child nutrition etc.
Diseases
Covers various health conditions.
Health
Covers various health topics.
Health Services
Covers topics such as mental health support, public spending etc.

House of Lords Library

House of Lords Library: Health & Social Care Archives
Health information from the House of Lords.

Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST)

The Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) sources reliable and impartial scientific research for Parliament.

Parliamentary Committees

Find latest news and publications.

Fingertips- Public Health Profiles

Public Health Profiles
A rich source of documents and data across a range of health and wellbeing themes including:
child and maternal health; dementia; health protection; mental health; obesity; palliative care;
physical activity; sexual health.

Perform your own search

Search Parliamentary Material
Search for materials such as:
-Legislation
-Parliamentary papers, proceedings and questions
-Petitions
-Research briefings
Health & Social Care Committee
Search for reports, special reports and government responses from the government's Health & Social Care Committee.
IOE UK Digital Education Repository Archive (DERA)
A digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families.
UK Health Security Agency Knowledge and Library services
Search for UKHSA subscribed resources, NHS core content and open access resources

UK Government Health & Social Care agencies

Agencies of the UK government are also good sources of information. The following are a list of health agencies:

Care Quality Commission
The independent regulator of health and social care in England.
Food Standards Agency
The FSA is an independent, non-ministerial department, whose main objectives in law are to protect public health from risks arising from the consumption of food and generally to protect the interests of consumers in relation to food.
Health Education England
Supports the delivery of excellent healthcare and health improvement to the patients and public of England by ensuring that a skilled workforce is available.
Health Research Authority
Protects and promotes the interests of patients and the public in health and social care research.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
Provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
NHS Confederation
The NHS Confederation is the membership organisation that brings together, supports and speaks for the whole healthcare system in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
NHS England
NHS England leads the National Health Service (NHS) in England.
Office for Health Improvement and Disparities
Focus on improving the nation’s health so that everyone can expect to live more of life in good health, and on levelling up health disparities to break the link between background and prospects for a healthy life.
Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care
Promotes the health, safety and wellbeing of patients, service users and the public.