Library guides: Journalism: Statistics and reports

Statistics

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books, and journals. The content focuses on economic and social issues such as macroeconomics, trade, education, ageing society, communication and information technologies, energy, development, science and innovation.
Statista
Statista provides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic through a simple keyword search. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

Eurostat
Provides statistical information for Europe, published by the statistical office of the European Union
Accessibility statement for Eurostat

Office for National Statistics
The Office for National Statistics (ONS) is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is the recognised national statistical institute for the UK. It is responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels.
World Fact Book (CIA)
The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
GlobalStat
An aggregated database of research from all over the world, sortable by theme

National Readership Survey
The National Readership Survey was established in 1956 and today provides the most authoritative and valued audience research in use for print advertising trading in the UK. The survey covers over 250 of Britain's major newspapers and magazines, showing the size and nature of the audiences they achieve. NRS was introduced in September 2012 to provide a unique measure of combined print and online audiences. Data are available up to 2017; subsequent data are available via PAMCo (below).

PAMCo
The Publishers Audience Measurement Company (PAMCo), is the governing body which oversees audience measurement for the published media industry. PAMCo provides access to data previously supplied by the National Readership Survey.
Please contact Library Services for username and password details.

Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC)
ABC releases data for the UK media industry to use when trading print, digital and event advertising. The Data Hub contains the latest circulation data, with headline figures & certificates going back to 2000, including detailed data back to 2017 where available. City students can register with ABC free of charge using their city.ac.uk email address.