Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Language and Communication Science

For students, academics and researchers within the Language and Communication Sciences Division.

Evidence Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) requires that decisions about health care are based on the best available, current, valid and relevant evidence.

There are a number of resources which you can use to find the latest research evidence.

Databases

Databases can be used to retrieve the latest evidence from articles published in journals. Articles can consist of reports on clinical trials, research studies and reviews of research, such as systematic reviews.

The Library subscribes to a number of databases which you can access with your City username and password. There are also databases available online which are free to use.

Below you can discover recommended databases for your course.

A number of health databases are available under the EBSCOhost and Ovid Online platforms. You can create an account in each platform to save and edit any searches you make.

                                  

Evidence Based Practice research tools

Whilst databases can be used to find 'evidence' through providing access to articles covering academic studies, clinical trials, systematic reviews etc. some resources have been developed which, as well as providing access to these, also provide evidence in other formats e.g. clinical guidelines and policy documents.

American Speech Language Hearing Association's (ASHA) Evidence Maps

These evidence maps provide access to:American Speech Language Hearing Association's (ASHA) Evidence Maps homepage.

  • ASHA policy documents
  • guidelines
  • systematic reviews

 

SpeechBITE

The SpeechBITE homepage.

A database providing access to:

  • clinical trials
  • systematic reviews
  • case studies
  • clinical guidelines specific to speech and language therapy

 

What Works?

The What Works homepage.What Works is designed primarily for practitioners - teachers, school leaders, early years practitioners, and speech and language therapists - to help find the best interventions for those children and young people they work with that have speech, language, and communication needs.

NICE Evidence and Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP) are two tools which cover all areas of healthcare.

As well as finding research studies in journal articles, they also provide access to clinical guidelines, summaries of evidence and patient information.

 

'Point of Care' tools

Point-of-care tools are research and reference resources that a speech therapist can use immediately at the point-of-care with a patient.

They provide concise information on:

  • causes of conditions
  • signs and symptoms
  • how to assess and treat patients with specific conditions
  • the incidence and prevalence of conditions

The tools below are produced by the American Speech Language Hearing Association

 

Useful guides

Here are details of some guides you can use to help you search for the latest evidence:

Literature Searching for Health

This guide takes you through the steps involved in performing a literature search to find information for your research.

RCSLT Evidence-based clinical decision-making tool

This interactive evidence-based clinical decision-making tool is  available to support SLTs at all stages of their careers.

The tool provides a step-by-step guide to the clinical decision-making process, taking you from assessment through to the selection and evaluation of interventions for individual clients.