Library guides: News and current awareness for Business: Business news

Newspapers and other news sources (such as magazines) provide reporting, analysis, and opinion on current affairs and historical events. Some news sources focus on a particular industry, geographical area, or topic.

Our news subscriptions offer a wide range of local, national, and international news sources. They are searchable and sometimes provide digital editions of publications. Many are updated daily with the latest news content. We also have archives dating back hundreds of years for historical research.

Check privacy policies before submitting personal data when using online resources. Find out more on our Personal Data and Online Resources Page

FT.com
Gives access to the daily news focusing on international business and economics.
FT.com also provides access to company and market data as well as the FT ePaper which is the digital replica of the Financial Times printed newspaper from different countries including UK, Asia and USA.
Registration required - To sign up for a FT account, please see How to register/re-register for a FT account. Further details are available by emailing businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
App available.

We've arranged a subscription to the FT.com website, giving you access to all of the site including apps for phones and tablets, up-to-date news and information, and all the FT's articles.

To use this resource you must register for an individual account. Please go to How to register and re-register for a Financial Times account.

Business Source Ultimate
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Economist.com
British weekly magazine of news and opinion, covering world politics, economics, business finance, science and technology. Full-text available from June 1997 to present.
The Economist Online also offers a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programmes. Access is sponsored by The Worshipful Company of International Bankers.
Financial News
News and analysis of the investment banking and securities industry updated throughout the day, 5 days a week.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for instructions.
Lloyd's List
Daily shipping newspaper with in-depth coverage of marine insurance, offshore energy, logistics, global trade and law.
Registration is required using your City email address.
Tradewinds
Online version of the weekly paper which provides in-depth reporting on the shipping industry.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration instructions.

Several of our specialist databases which are focused on providing financial and market information also contain news sections, with relevant business intelligence meant to inform decisions.

Bloomberg
Global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Available on campus only from dedicated terminals:

• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library

Registration instructions: To use Bloomberg, you must create a Bloomberg account.
Certifications: To take Bloomberg Certification in Finance Fundamentals, Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.
See our Bloomberg LibGuide for more information.

Bloomberg: use the code <TOP> to see headlines and NSE <GO> for advanced news searching.

Eikon (LSEG)
Comprehensive financial data, analytics, and insights for global markets, including real-time news, pricing, and specialist research tools. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4.
Use the Excel Add-in to download data and access Datastream.

Eikon: search for "News" to find the News Monitor app.

S&P Capital IQ Pro
Provides detailed and standardised financial data on financial institutions in the US, Europe and MEA.
Limitation: You have to be connected to the university network to register for and access this database.
System Requirements: Does not work with Firefox browser.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025 module. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration and access instructions.

S&P Capital IQ Pro has an extensive research section covering financial sectors. To access it, select Research > Market Intelligence Research Library.

These collections of business news provide access to thousands of titles around the world. They include trade publications as well as newspapers and magazines. For students researching news, Nexis and Factiva enable advanced searching for more relevant search results.

Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
- Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
- Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
- The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
- For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.
Factiva
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- The length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only.
- Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence.

Factiva Quick Guide

PressReader
Provides digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse entire editions making it useful for studying page layout etc.
PressReader provides access to the last year of most publications. App available: Setting up the PressReader App

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes adverts, market listings etc in addition to text.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Gale Primary Sources
Allows you to cross-search several newspaper archives and the Chatham House Online Archive.
Newspaper sources include The Daily Mail Historical Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The Independent Historical Archive , The Telegraph Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive and The Sunday Times Historical Archive.

Business databases by topic

Use our 'business databases by topic' guide to find out which databases contain the type of information you need.

Business databases by topic

Contact your Subject Librarian

We support Business School students to improve marks on coursework, exams and dissertations through finding and making the most of high quality resources. Use the links below to make an appointment, contact us directly, or alternatively use Ask Us for a quick answer.