CityLIS library guide

A list of tailored, credible, good quality materials for your subject. These are the key resources you should be familiar with. Open and explore the links.

Academic Search Ultimate
A multidisciplinary database providing access to full text articles, reports, conference proceedings and books in nearly every area of academic study.
Accessibility information for Academic Search Ultimate
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight provides abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content includes the subject areas of accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.
Accessibility information for Emerald Insight
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text
Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s and focus on librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.
Accessibility information for Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text
ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and the Economist.
Accessibility information for ProQuest One Business
Also covers ProQuest Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
SCOPUS
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Accessibility information for SCOPUS
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
Accessibility information for Web of Science

The books relevant for Information Science can be found in the Northampton Square Library. If you want to browse the library shelves for specific subject areas, the enclosed table gives you some useful shelfmarks.

At the Northampton Square Library, books with shelfmarks 0 - 303.3999 can be found on level 3; books with shelfmarks 303.4 - 330.09 can be found on level 4, and books with shelfmarks 330.1 and above are shelved on level 5.

Subject	Shelfmark
Business information	658.3048
Data presentation, representation and record formats	005.72
Information retrieval	025.524
Information Science / Library Science	020
Legal aspects of information technology	343.410999

Explore Library and Information Science journals

Find top journals in BrowZine, a browsable news stand where you can easily discover, read, and monitor the library's key journals.

View journals

Help with journals

CityLibrary Search

Reading lists

Help guides:

CILIP
Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals
CILIP Information Literacy Group
Supports practitioners and researchers from around the world with an interest in information and digital literacy
UKSG
UKSG is concerned with the publication, distribution and use of scholarly and professional information throughout the world.

CILIP events, training and conferences
CILIP run a range of training, events, and conferences around the UK for the information and library sector.
LILAC Conference
LILAC (Librarians' Information Literacy Annual Conference) website and archive of past conference papers on information literacy.
UX Libs
UX in Libraries is an established international conference which explores user experience research and design thinking techniques.

CityLIS

Your Subject Librarian

Antonella Yarnold

CityLIS library guide

Explore Library and Information Science journals

Help with journals

Help guides:

Professional Development