CityLIS library guide
A list of tailored, credible, good quality materials for your subject. These are the key resources you should be familiar with. Open and explore the links.- Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary database providing access to full text articles, reports, conference proceedings and books.
- Emerald Insight
Abstracts and full text access to books and journals published by Emerald. Content covers accounting, management, education, engineering and information science.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text
Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s and focusses on librarianship, classification, cataloguing and information management.
- ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals including the Wall Street Journal.
- SCOPUS
The largest abstract and citation database of international peer-reviewed literature: journals, books and conference proceedings. It also has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
The books relevant for Information Science can be found in the Northampton Square Library. If you want to browse the library shelves for specific subject areas, the enclosed table gives you some useful shelfmarks.
At the Northampton Square Library, books with shelfmarks 0 - 303.3999 can be found on level 3; books with shelfmarks 303.4 - 330.09 can be found on level 4, and books with shelfmarks 330.1 and above are shelved on level 5.
| Subject | Shelfmark |
|---|---|
| Business information | 658.3048 |
| Data presentation, representation and record formats | 005.72 |
| Information retrieval | 025.524 |
| Information Science / Library Science | 020 |
| Legal aspects of information technology | 343.410999 |
Professional Development
- CILIPChartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals
- CILIP Information Literacy GroupSupports practitioners and researchers from around the world with an interest in information and digital literacy
- UKSGUKSG is concerned with the publication, distribution and use of scholarly and professional information throughout the world.
- CILIP events, training and conferencesCILIP run a range of training, events, and conferences around the UK for the information and library sector.
- LILAC ConferenceLILAC (Librarians' Information Literacy Annual Conference) website and archive of past conference papers on information literacy.
- UX LibsUX in Libraries is an established international conference which explores user experience research and design thinking techniques.
Your Subject Librarian
Library workshops
Our free workshops are designed to enhance and support your study and research.