Finding books and e-books
- Search Library Search by title, keyword or author to locate books and e-books.
- Use the 'Refine your search' options to limit the content type to 'book / e-book'.
- E-books: To access e-books on and off campus open the 'Full text online' link from the results section and enter your City email and password.
- Print books: The availability, shelfmark, library location, and loan period are displayed. There may be more copies available at other locations - select the link to view the full item record.
Shelfmarks for Engineering
The majority of books relating to Engineering can be found in the Northampton Square Library. The table below gives you some useful shelfmarks if you want to browse the library shelves for specific subject areas.
Books with shelfmarks 0-299 are found on Level 4, and shelfmarks 300 and above are on Level 5.
|
Subject |
Shelfmark |
|---|---|
| Mathematics | 510 |
| Technology and Applied Sciences | 600 |
| Applied Physics | 621 |
| Hydraulic Engineering | 627 |
| Sanitary & municipal engineering | 628 |
| Aeronautical Engineering | 629 |
| General Management, Management, Operations, and Logisitics | 658 |
| Fuels Technology | 660 |
| Chemical Engineering | 662 |
| Metallurgy | 670 |
| Computer science, knowledge & systems | 000 |
| Military Science | 355 |
| Commerce, communications, transport | 380 |
| Air and Space communication | 387 |
Useful e-book collections
- AccessEngineering
Provides access to full text for over 700 McGraw-Hill Professional engineering books, including set texts.
- ICE Virtual Library
Provides full-text access to e-books and e-journals from Institute of Civil Engineering Publishing, including archives back to 1836. Full-text access to subscribed e-journals and e-books only.
- Knovel
Provides online access to reference books, databases, datasets, tools and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering.
Visit the e-book FAQ if you need any further help with access to our e-books