Media and Communications library guide

A list of tailored, credible, good quality materials for your subject. These are the key resources you should be familiar with. Open and explore the links.

Communication Source
Communication Source covers communications theory, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language, phonetics, media studies and related fields.
Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
- Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
- Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
- The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
- For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
View, record, create clips and share broadcast programmes from over 75 TV and radio channels. Only available to view in the UK. For educational use only.
Limitation: Full service available only to users located in the UK. BBC Parliament is temporarily available to users located anywhere in the world.
Sage Journals Online
Large collection of journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine published by Sage.
Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary database providing access to full text articles, reports, conference proceedings and books.
WARC
Peer-reviewed journals, case studies, WARC briefings, best practice guides on marketing strategy and implementation, research papers, media and advertising data, and market context analysis.
Also includes Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research, International Journal of Advertising & the International Journal of Market Research.
© and database right Warc Limited and/or its licensors 2025. All warranties and liabilities disclaimed to the fullest extent permitted by law.
User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. For access to the user guides, non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.

You can find books for Media and Communications in the Northampton Square Library. If you want to browse the library shelves for specific subject areas, the enclosed table gives you some useful shelfmarks.

At the Northampton Square Library, books with shelfmarks 0 - 302 can be found on level 3; books with shelfmarks 303 - 329 can be found on level 4, and books with shelfmarks 330 and above are on level 5.

Subject	Shelfmark
News media, journalism and publishing	070
Communication	302.2
Media	302.23
Telecommunication	384
Marketing	658.8
Advertising and public relations	659
Screenwriting	828.23