Library guides: Music: Industry information

Introduction

The following resources can help you find information on the music industry. You can use this data for coursework, projects and when looking for a job.

Information taken from City Library databases must not be used for commercial purposes, including for university placements.

Industry information

Business Source Ultimate
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals including the Wall Street Journal.
Also covers ProQuest Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.

Statista
Provides recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic. It includes data on international industries from different sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

Mintel
UK market research reports with focus on consumer markets including media and leisure & entertainment.
IBISWorld
UK, US, China and some global-level industry reports.
Limitation: There is a download limit of 25 reports per session. Specialized Industry Reports are not available as part of our subscription.
User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
MarketLine Advantage
Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
User Guide (PDF, 2.1 MB).
Fame
Company information for major public and private British companies.
Limitation: Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.

Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
- Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
- Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
- The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
- For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.
Factiva
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation:
- The length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only.
- Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence.