Key databases for Radiography
EBSCOhost is a platform which gives you access to a number of databases. You can create an account, save and edit your searches or create alerts.
This is the list of databases most relevant for Radiography:
- Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary database providing access to full text articles, reports, conference proceedings and books.
- CINAHL Ultimate
Database covering nursing and allied health research, including more than 50 nursing specialties.
- Medline Complete
Database of information and peer reviewed research related to biomedicine, life sciences, behavioural sciences and biomedical engineering. Recommended for systematic reviews.
- APA PsycInfo
Access to international literature in psychology, behavioural science and social sciences from the 1880s to present.
These Ovid Online databases contain topics in radiography. You can use them simultaneously
- AMED - covers complimentary medicine, palliative care and allied health care
- Embase - covers all aspects of health care but specialises in drug therapy and research
- Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews - allow searching 7 databases covering evidence-based literatures simultaneously
- Global Health - covers communicable diseases, human nutrition, community and public health issues from around the world
- Journals from Ovid - accumulated online database of all Ovid journals
- Maternity and Infant Care - provides references involving the care of women and infants
- Medline - provides medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more. (Coverage is not as extensive as the version in EBSCOhost)
Science Direct is a database covering medical, scientific and technical information. Many radiography journals are added to this database, therefore it offers many radiography-related articles.
Wiley Online Library - Similar to ScienceDirect, many radiography journals are included in this database. It contains various articles on radiography and ultrasound topics.
STATdx provides access to good quality of medical images. It contains tens of thousands of medical images including CT scans, X-rays, MRIs, ultrasounds, full-colour illustrations, and other images. It presents classical diagnoses as well as clinical text supported by journal references. The image topics include: brain, cardiovascular, urology, obstetrics and gynecology, head and neck, pediatrics, ultrasound and more.
e-Anatomy is a high-quality interactive human anatomy atlas. It contains radiological images including CT, MRI, PET images in axial, coronal and sagittal slices as well as x-rays and angiography, dissections, diagram and illustration. It covers atlas of chest, brain, eye and other parts of the body.
More Useful Databases (search by topic)
- Google Scholarfreely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories
- SCOPUS
The largest abstract and citation database of international peer-reviewed literature: journals, books and conference proceedings. It also has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.