Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Language and Communication Science

For students, academics and researchers within the Language and Communication Sciences Division.

Accent & Dialect tools

Accents and Dialects

A searchable database of English accent recordings from the British Library sound archive.

British Library Sound Archive homepage.

Speech accent archive

Presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyse the accents of different English speakers.

The Speech Accent Archive homepage

Lexical Database

Celex Lexical Database

Use this video guide on "Search CELEX"  to learn how to use the database effectively.

Phonetic Alphabet

International Phonetic Alphabet

The International Phonetic Alphabet is funded by a seedcorn grant from CETL. Dr. Rachael-Anne Knight and Dr. Christina Villafaña recorded ultrasound images of the tongue during the production of all consonants in Standard Southern British English. The videos allow us to see the actions of the tongue while simultaneously hearing the sound that is produced. It is hoped that these videos will be of use to students of phonetics at City, University of London and elsewhere.

International Phonetic Alphabet homepage