Library guides: Employability and information skills: Finding information on employers

Researching employers

You can use our library guides for various subjects to find information about different careers, companies and organisations, firstly to see where you may wish to work and secondly to research potential employers to prepare for any job applications or interviews.

Many of our business resources are great for researching companies before you apply or go for interviews. You may wish to search for market research, news and financial information on your company. This page contains a selection of resources, please see our Business library guides for more resources.

MarketLine Advantage
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
User Guide (PDF, 2.1 MB).
ProQuest Databases
Platform that offers access to various research databases, as well as newspaper and magazine archives hosted by ProQuest.
Business Source Ultimate
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.

MarketLine Advantage
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
User Guide (PDF, 2.1 MB).
Mintel
UK Market research reports with a rolling two years' data. The focus is on consumer markets including a specialist coverage of the financial sector.
Please read conditions of use when logging on.
Euromonitor Passport
Industry trends, strategic analysis, market size and market share data across key countries and industries. Includes demographic and economic data and packaging information.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration instructions.
User guide

MarketLine Advantage
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
User Guide (PDF, 2.1 MB).
Fame
Profit and loss, balance sheet, ratios and trends, stock prices, credit score and rating information for major public and private British companies.
Lists of companies can be created using any combination of 300 search items.
Limitation: Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.
Factiva
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
- The length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only.
- Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence.
Nexis UK
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation - Users may print and download for personal use only single copies of up to ten documents in Full Text Format from the results of one search.
Users are prohibited from downloading substantial parts of the database and materials cannot be stored for longer than 90 days.
Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes and text data mining is not permitted.
For further information please see Library Services’ Online Resource Policy.
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
ProQuest Databases
Platform that offers access to various research databases, as well as newspaper and magazine archives hosted by ProQuest.