Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Library Employability Guide

News sources

As part of your job hunt you will need to make sure that you keep up to date with developments and news in your chosen field. Having current knowledge will enhance your credibility and help you ask informed and relevant questions at interviews.

Employers will want to see that you have an understanding of an organisation's history and mission and that you are aware of any current political or economic issues that may affect its work. See our Newspaper guide for further information. 

Databases

The following databases will let you search across multiple sources quickly and access local, national and international news. 

  • Factiva
    Factiva provides access to international newspapers, trade publications, magazines and websites in over 23 languages, including simplified Chinese and Arabic. Particularly useful for business and industry news and information.
  • Database with access to over 12,000 news sources, newspapers, newsletters, magazines and trade journals including over 450 International publications, with over 250 newswires updated continuously.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an off-air recording and media archive service which enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels.

The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions. Please note: Only available to users in the UK and for educational use only

Alerts

One of the best ways to keep up to date is by using Alerts.

The databases below allow you to set alerts (usually by signing in to the database and creating a personal account) so you will be told when new content on your topic is published.

Examples of databases are:

Newspapers/ journals/ trade magazines/ blogs

  • Guardian jobs  Find top jobs in media, public sector, charity, marketing, arts and heritage, social housing and healthcare here on Guardian Jobs. Choose from over 1200 jobs.
  • Guardian Careers Careers website and blog from the Guardian. Includes essential resources, upload a CV and finding a job.
  • iJobs Jobs website from the Independent.
  • Novoresume Career blog Careers and personal development blog posts.