Sources of information
The quickest way to find information for your research is to use the online library guides which relate most closely to your topic. Library Guides provide details of and access to key resources relating to the discipline they cover. Resources available include: bibliographic databases; journals; books and websites.
On this page Library Guides have been listed under the School they represent. We have also highlighted some generally useful research resources. You can also find research related blog posts on our research blog
Books and e-books
Books are useful to give an overview of a particular subject.
Search CityLibrary Search by title, keyword or author to locate books and e-books.
- Results for print books in CityLibrary Search will show you the book title, author, and publication date, followed by number of copies, availability, shelfmark, library location and loan period.
- To find a book in the Library, you will need to make a note of the shelfmark and match this to the spine of the book. Books are arranged in numerical order.
- To access e-books on and off campus click the 'Full text online' link and enter your City username and password.
Journals and journal articles
Journals are very useful for current research as they tend to be published more frequently than books.
Browse the Journals A-Z list, or search with CityLibrary Search.
BrowZine
BrowZine is a useful resource which allows researchers to browse electronic journals.
Explore all journals
Some useful research databases
See library guides for different subject resources. Browse a full list of databases available to City staff and students.
- Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary database providing access to full text articles, reports, conference proceedings and books.
- Sage Research Methods online
Several hundred research methods, e-books, videos and case studies. Provides information on research methods in health and social sciences. Designed to answer methods questions at each stage of the research process.
- SCOPUS
The largest abstract and citation database of international peer-reviewed literature: journals, books and conference proceedings. It also has smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary resource which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It provides access to research tools like cited reference searching and the Journal Citation Reports.
City Research Online
City Research Online (CRO) is the institutional repository of City, University of London. It includes full text versions and bibliographic records of research outputs created by members of staff and research students at City.
It contains some electronic theses written by City graduates.
Use it to find out about research conducted in your department or written by City academic staff and research students.
For further guidance, please see our City Research Online and open access Library Guide.
Grey literature
See our Grey literature guide for finding sources of semi or informally published materials such as research reports, theses, conference proceedings working papers, white papers, government, academic, business and industry reports etc.
Finding theses
Details of PhD theses written by former City students are available via City Library Search
Enter your search terms eg. Counselling Psychology and City, University of London and when the results appear select the Dissertation/ Thesis option at the left hand side of the screen.
For many of the more recent electronic versions of theses, you can search City's repository City Research Online.
Print PhD theses (submitted up to July 2019) are kept in the library store; you will need to select the Request print copy from the library store link.
There are store collections at 9.30am and 2.30pm each day. You can collect your thesis from the Northampton Square Library Reception Desk after 11am and 4pm respectively.
CityLibrary Search will link to EThoS if a digitised copy is available or City Research Online if an electronic thesis is available.
- Includes details of theses from Universities in the UK - this service is provided by the British Library.
- Some full text is available – you can register with the service and order some theses for free.
- Details may not be included on other databases or on Google.
- When the results appear, click on the title link to see more details of the thesis. An abstract may be available. If the full text is available you will need to register and log in to download.