The quickest way to find information for your research is to use the online library guides which relate most closely to your topic. Library Guides provide details of and access to key resources relating to the discipline they cover. Resources available include: bibliographic databases; journals; books and websites.
On this page Library Guides have been listed under the School they represent. We have also highlighted some generally useful research resources. You can also find research related blog posts on our research blog
Books are useful to give an overview of a particular subject.
Search CityLibrary Search by title, keyword or author to locate books and e-books.
City Research Online (CRO) is the institutional repository of City, University of London. It includes full text versions and bibliographic records of research outputs created by members of staff and research students at City.
It contains some electronic theses written by City graduates.
Use it to find out about research conducted in your department or written by City academic staff and research students.
For further guidance, please see our City Research Online and open access Library Guide.
See our Grey literature guide for finding sources of semi or informally published materials such as research reports, theses, conference proceedings working papers, white papers, government, academic, business and industry reports etc.
Details of PhD theses written by former City students are available via City Library Search
Enter your search terms eg. Counselling Psychology and City, University of London and when the results appear select the Dissertation/ Thesis option at the left hand side of the screen.
For many of the more recent electronic versions of theses, you can search City's repository City Research Online.
Print PhD theses (submitted up to July 2019) are kept in the library store; you will need to select the Request print copy from the library store link.
There are store collections at 9.30am and 2.30pm each day. You can collect your thesis from the Northampton Square Library Reception Desk after 11am and 4pm respectively.
Library Services are custodians of the City, University of London Archive and responsible for maintaining, preserving and making the existing heritage collection accessible to staff, students and external researchers.
For more information on our Archive, Special Collections and how to access materials, please visit our Archive and Special Collections Guide.
The Archive contains a wide range of material detailing the history of the institution, including:
The Northampton Square Library also houses a number of special collections, including:
Requests to access the collection should be made to the Archives@City Team.