Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Archives and Special Collections

Access

Making your request

Please use the online request form to arrange viewing of materials. Please include your research credentials or details of your project including intended purpose and audience. We will will respond to your enquiry within 3 working days.

Materials will be retrieved by Library Services staff for viewing or digitisation. Loans (for exhibition only) will be considered on a case-by-case basis and require approval from Library Services. The Archive operates as a closed collection and we will decline requests to browse.

To enable the preservation of our collections items may not be taken away. Please factor sufficient time into your project to enable Library Services staff to make the necessary dilligent checks outlined in the related document, Library Services, Archives and Special Collections. We require at least 30 working days’ notice (or longer depending on the scale of your project and the volume of material requested) to process your request for digitisation or display purposes.

Any copies supplied for academic non-commercial research are for private use only. Permission to publish must be requested separately. Readers wishing to publish extracts from items in the Archive are reminded that the responsibility for checking the ownership of copyright and obtaining necessary permissions rests with them. Please credit the source of the material – as “reproduced with permission of City, University of London Archive”.


Viewing Archive material

On approval, a librarian will arrange a suitable appointment to view material under supervision. You may use pencils only and food and drink may not be consumed when viewing or handling Archive material. Please see our handling guidelines for further information.

Location

Please report to the Northampton Square Library service desk prior to your appointment to sign in: you will be asked for proof of identification when you arrive (for visitors from other academic institutions your home ID will be required). A member of library staff will collect you from this point.

Viewing times

Appointments can be made to view material on weekdays between 11 am - 5 pm.

Self-service photography

The use of personal devices to photograph Archive material is permissible by agreement with Library Services. The device must not affect the condition of the documents. Flash photography is not permitted. Archive users must comply with copyright law. Any queries regarding copyright can be directed to the Copyright Librarian.

Filming

Filming of the Archive collection and spaces is prohibited.


Associated fees

Library Services may charge to cover the cost of retrieval, production, reproduction, preservation and rights clearance together with a reasonable return on investment and may decline the permission to re-use information.  


Contact us

Email archives@city.ac.uk

Telephone: 020 7040 4019