Skip to main content

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Archives and Special Collections

Northampton Square Bandstand, then and nowAbout

The City, University of London Archive contains a wide range of material detailing the history of the institution, from annual reports and general administrative records, to press cuttings, photographs and even audio tapes of special lectures.

The AIM25 consortium has details of the complete holdings of the City Archive, an outline of which can be found below. AIM25 provides a database of collection-level descriptions of archives in London and the M25 area.

Holdings

  • Foundation documents and University charter 1966
  • Governing Body records, including:
    • Minutes (1892)
    • Annual reports (1897-2000)
    • Various management schemes (1912-1960s)
  • General administrative records, including:
    • Prospectuses (1930s-1960s)
    • Records of prizes, scholarships, and ceremonial occasions, and in-house publications
  • Financial records (1893-1999)
  • Estates and buildings records and plans (1892-2000)
  • Academic administrative records, including:
    • Departmental syllabuses (1927-1996)
    • Research and publications reports (1952-1992)
    • Publications (1970-1997)
    • Promotional literature (1960s-1990s)
  • Lists of students (1899-1960s)
  • Staff records (1895-1926)
  • Library records (1940s-1990s)
  • Student Union records and records of other student societies (1906-1999) including:
    • Student magazines (1912-1999)
  • Records of staff associations (1950s-1990s)
  • Press cuttings (1909-1999)
  • Photographs (1892-1999)
  • Audio tape recordings of special lectures (1960s-1980s)