Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

  1. Library Services Home
  2. Resources
  3. Support
  4. About
  5. My Library

Archives and Special Collections

COVID-19 Update

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic library staff have limited access to City Archives and Special Collections. We are currently unable to offer in-person visits. Responding to enquiries may take longer than usual.

Contact City's Archives & Special Collections Group

Thank you for contacting the archives team. To make a request or enquiry, please complete the form below.


We will respond within three working days. However, please note that it can take up to 30 days to fulfil your request. The archives group can spend up to 30 minutes researching responses to enquiries. 


You must agree to the Terms and Conditions outlined below this form.

Your details






Your enquiry


Terms and conditions
Copyright and use of photographs, images and videos from the City Archive and Special Collections


The images in our collection are supplied to you in line with the following terms and conditions:

  • Other than where permitted, no part of the Content maybe sold, resold, licensed, transferred, copied or reproduced in whole or in part in any manner or in or on any media to any person without the prior written consent of Library Services.
  • Library Services does not warrant that the sharing of Content, including Public Domain or Creative Commons content will not infringe upon the rights of third parties. It is your responsibility to determine and follow copyright and other use conditions before copying, transmitting, or making other use of the Content.
  • You agree to abide by all copyright notices, licence conditions, restrictions attached to the Content and agree not to remove or alter any notices, conditions, forms of identification, or dedications, if required not to.
  • Library Services will make every reasonable effort to locate, contact and acknowledge rights holders and to correctly apply terms and conditions to Content. In the event that any Content infringes your rights or the rights of any third parties, or Content is not properly identified or acknowledged we would like to hear from you, or any third parties, so we may make any necessary alterations or remove the content at the earliest opportunity. In this event contact: archives@city.ac.uk
  • If you would like to make an application for an Orphan Works licence (to use an image where the copyright holder is not known), the charges will be your responsibility.
If you have specific questions or information about use of images or other content please contact: archives@city.ac.uk


The Library asks that anyone reusing digital images from these collections apply the following principles:

  • Please respect the creators – ensure traditional cultural expressions and all ethical concerns in the use of the material are considered, and any information relating to the creator is clear and accurate.
  • Please note, any adaptations made to an image should not be attributed to the original creator and should not be derogatory to the originating cultures or communities.
  • Please credit the source of the material – as “reproduced with permission of City, University of London Archive”