Library Guides: Copyright: Newspapers

Newspapers

City has a licence with the Newspaper Licensing Agency (NLA). This permits staff at City to distribute copies of newspaper articles

to students for their educational and instructional purposes and
to members of staff to use "internally" (within City).

The NLA licence covers all national newspapers for photocopying and (except for the Financial Times) scanning. There is a summary below of what copying is permitted.

Photocopying and scanning

Photocopying

It is permissible to photocopy from the hard copy versions of all those national and international newspapers on the NLA list. (PDF, 110 KB).

Scanning

It is permissible to scan articles from hard copy versions of most national and international newspapers on the NLA list above and make them available to students via Moodle. The only exception is the Financial Times, which does not allow digital copying of complete articles; this includes copying of articles downloaded from City's digital subscription. However, copying up to 30 words of an article, or producing a summary in your own words of not more than 30 words are both permitted, to put on Moodle. In both cases there must be a link to the article included.

Digital copying from databases

Our NLA Licence does not authorise distribution of material which has been obtained from database providers, for example:

Factiva
Provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.

Limitation - Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only. Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence. See details below for more information.
Accessibility information for Factiva
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 30 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
Nexis UK
Is a news database which offers national, regional and international news from a range of sources on various subjects emphasising on business and industry, including company and industry reports. Its content is updated daily and many titles have a 20 year archive.

Limitation - You may only download a single copy of insubstantial portions of those Materials included in any individually searchable file or content source in the Online Services. Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only. See details below for more information.

Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes. Text data mining is not permitted within our Nexis UK licence.
Accessibility information for Nexis UK
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.

Credit for image on this page

'Newspapers (Tehran)' by birdfarm (CC BY-NC 2.0) Accessed from Flickr 09/07/2015