Skip to Main Content

MSc Charities Courses

Explore this guide using the menu on the left to help you choose the right information source for your work. Contact your librarian if you need help or advice.

Printed book version of Cite Them Right Online

Accurate citing and referencing is good academic practice, it enhances the presentation of your work, and can improve your marks. In the Business School, we use Harvard Style. Citations should be given in the form of the author’s surname and the year in brackets in the text wherever you have used other people’s work. Library Services provides tools to help you to layout your citations and references accurately – please see the links above.

Always check referencing advice given in your programme and module handbooks, and check with your lecturer if you are in any doubt. Failing to acknowledge your sources is plagiarism, which is academic misconduct. Find out more about academic misconduct.

If you need help with Citing and Referencing, postgraduates, researchers and staff should contact emilia.brzozowska-szczecina@citystgeorges.ac.uk and undergraduates should contact andrew.medder@citystgeorges.ac.uk.

Whenever you have used any source to inform your work, you must cite it in your text and add it to a properly-formatted reference list at the end of your work.  You need to cite all the evidence, ideas, theories, data or direct quotes – or indeed anything else – that you found in someone else’s work. Learn more about the basics of referencing.

How to reference using the Harvard system for books, articles, newspapers and other work

Examples of many more types of material can be found in Cite Them Right Online.

Some of our specialist financial databases, such as Bloomberg, Eikon and Morningstar, do not have URLs to direct your readers to. Follow the instructions in Cite Them Right to cite and reference these databases:

You would cite these references in your text using the database name and the year of publication or last update, for instance (Bloomberg, 2017). If you have several references to the same database in the same year, follow the instructions in Cite Them Right Online under Citing sources published in the same year by the same author.

The most important thing about constructing your reference list is that is remains consistent, so if you are in doubt about how to reference something and must make a guess, look carefully at other types of references in the same style and construct it to match as well as you can.

 

Avoiding plagiarism

Plagiarism is using the words, work or ideas of others and passing them off as your own. Plagiarism is not only something that is taken seriously at University, but also in the real world. This section will give you practical advice about plagiarism and how to avoid it at University, but importantly will equip you with the knowledge and skills to take into your career.

Managing your references

RefWorks is an bibliographic software tool which allows you to manage your research material by importing and adding your references to an online database. You can then manage your references and use their details to insert into text documents and create bibliographies and, share with your colleagues.

Test your citing and Referencing

One of the best ways to master Citing and Referencing is by practicing.

These quizzes allow you to test your citing and referencing skills.