Gives access to the daily news focusing on international business and economics. FT.com also provides information on company and market data as well as the FT Digital Edition for different regions including Europe, Asia and USA.
Registration is required using your @city.ac.uk email address.
App available.
We've arranged a subscription to the FT.com website, giving you access to all of the site including apps for phones and tablets, up-to-date news and information, and all the FT's articles.
To use this resource you must register for an individual account. Please go to How to register and re-register for a Financial Times account.
Journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses. Covers business and economics, with full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
A weekly magazine covering international politics, economics, technology, culture and business news and opinion. Full-text is available from June 1997 to present. The online platform includes web-only content such as blogs and videos.
News and analysis of the investment banking and securities industry updated throughout the day, 5 days a week.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for instructions.
Daily shipping newspaper with in-depth coverage of marine insurance, offshore energy, logistics, global trade and law.
Registration is required using your @city.ac.uk email address.
Online version of the weekly paper which provides in-depth reporting on the shipping industry.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration instructions.
Several of our specialist databases which are focused on providing financial and market information also contain news sections, with relevant business intelligence meant to inform decisions.
Global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Available on campus only from dedicated terminals:
• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library
Registration instructions: To use Bloomberg, you must create a Bloomberg account.
Certifications: To take Bloomberg Certification in Finance Fundamentals, Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.
See our Bloomberg LibGuide for more information.
Bloomberg: use the code <TOP> to see headlines and NSE <GO> for advanced news searching.
Comprehensive financial data, analytics, and insights for global markets, including real-time news, pricing, and specialist research tools. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4.
Use the Excel Add-in to download data and access Datastream.
Eikon: search for "News" to find the News Monitor app.
Provides detailed and standardised financial data on financial institutions in the US, Europe and MEA.
Limitation: You have to be connected to the university network to register for and access this database.
System Requirements: Does not work with Firefox browser.
Registration instructions: Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2024-2025 module. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration and access instructions.
S&P Capital IQ Pro has an extensive research section covering financial sectors. To access it, select Research > Market Intelligence Research Library.
These collections of business news provide access to thousands of titles around the world. They include trade publications as well as newspapers and magazines. For students researching news, Nexis and Factiva enable advanced searching for more relevant search results.
Full-text coverage of national, regional and international news from a range of sources including newswires. Updated daily and with many titles having a 20 year archive, useful for current affairs and seeing how topics have been reported.
Articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation
Offers full text from a range of sources including international newspapers, trade publications and magazines. Many titles have a 20 year archive and content is updated daily, making it useful for business, industry news and reports.
Please note that articles generally have no formatting or images.
Limitation:
Provides digital access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse entire editions making it useful for studying page layout etc.
PressReader provides access to the last year of most publications. App available: Setting up the PressReader App
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes adverts, market listings etc in addition to text.
Fully searchable and browsable digital archive. Includes images, adverts etc in addition to text.
Allows you to cross-search several newspaper archives and the Chatham House Online Archive.
Newspaper sources include The Daily Mail Historical Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Financial Times Historical Archive, The Independent Historical Archive , The Telegraph Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive and The Sunday Times Historical Archive.