Library Guides: MSc Charities Courses: Financial and company information

Financial Information for Charities

Large charities are often included in the company information resources listed below, especially where they have an international element to their work. Many charities include their annual reports and financial statements on their own websites: try searching the internet for the name of the charity and 'annual report' or 'annual accounts'.

Charity Commission: Register of Charities
Search the Register of Charities to find information, including accounts, for charities which are required to register with the Charity Commission in the UK. When you have located your charity, select 'View Accounts' on the menu on the left hand side to see their reports.
360Giving
360Giving is a charity that aims to support UK grantmakers in openly publishing information on their grants, including who, where and what they fund. Anyone can search, explore and download UK grant data from their GrantNav tool.

Fame
Provides profit and loss, balance sheet, ratios and trends, stock prices, credit score and rating information (where available) for major public and private British companies. Lists of companies can be created using any combination of 300 search items.
Accessibility information for Fame
Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.

You can use Fame to search for Charities and Social Enterprises:

To find Charities, select Official, then Legal Form. Use the small arrow by Other to open the full menu, then select Charitable Organization. Click OK to add this criteria to your search results, then add any other criteria, then click View Results.
To find Social Enterprises, select Activities and Industry and then Trade Description. Including the quotation marks, type in "social enterprise" and hit enter to search. Click OK to add this criteria to your search results, then add any other criteria, then click View Results.

Company Financials

Most resources use your usual City IT username and password. See 'FAQ - How do I log in?' for further details. Some resources need different login details or you need to register for an account: these are listed in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. All other students, please email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for details. A few financial resources are only available on specific PCs which you can book a time to use.

Key Resources for Company Financials

Fame
Provides profit and loss, balance sheet, ratios and trends, stock prices, credit score and rating information (where available) for major public and private British companies. Lists of companies can be created using any combination of 300 search items.
Accessibility information for Fame
Please note that Moody's resources may be used for educational research only, and may not be used for institutional business purposes.
Mergent Online
Company financials, stock prices, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors, long - term debt and capital stock.
Accessibility information for Mergent Online
User Guide available in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
S&P Capital IQ Pro
S&P Capital IQ Pro provides detailed and standardised financial data on financial institutions in the US, Europe and MEA.
Limitation Does not work with Firefox broswer.
Accessibility information for S&P Capital IQ Pro

You have to be connected to the university network to register for and access this database. Business School students should register for an account via Business Library Moodle 2023-2024 module. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk for registration details.

Further Resources for Company Financials

CB Insights
Is a global private company database that covers daily real-time information about venture capital, angel investor-backed private start-ups. It also contains M&A and IPO news, private equity and industry analysis. Please note that there is a limit of 4000 profile views and 4000 downloads per user per year.

Limitation - Students and staff should email the Business Library to request instructions for creating an account. Your City email address is only used for log-in, CB Information Services do not use this information for any other purpose.
Expert Intelligence reports are not available as part of our subscription.
Accessibility information for CB insights
Bloomberg
A global financial markets database providing news, analytics, real time pricing for millions of securities world-wide plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts.
Accessibility information for Bloomberg
Available on:

• 7 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library
• 10 non-bookable terminals in the Bloomberg Finance Lab, Bunhill Row
• 10 bookable terminals in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square
Library

You can book a terminal in advance.

To take Bloomberg Certification in Market Concept or Environmental Social Governance, see Signing up for Bloomberg for Education.
Eikon (Refinitiv)
Eikon contains news, analytics and financial content. It also includes a range of prices for multiple assets, fundamentals, estimates and charts. Includes data from Worldscope, I/B/E/S, Lipper and Asset 4. Use the Excel Add-In to download data and access Datastream.

Limitation - A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access and are issued Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time.
Accessibility information for Eikon(Refinitiv)
Available on 5 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Zone, Business Library, 8 bookable PCs in the Refinitiv Trading Room (Business School) and 3 bookable PCs in the Financial Resources Suite, Northampton Square Library. A limited number of Eikon usernames are available for off-site access. These will be issued on a first come, first served basis (Monday to Friday 09:00- 17:00 UK time) and will expire at 08:00 UK time the following day, if issued on a Friday the username will expire at 08:00 UK time Monday. Complete our request form to request a username and password. Alternatively, email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
Mergent Archives
Historical corporate and industry related documents from 1909 to present day including, digitised manuals from Moody's archives, Ford Equity Research Reports, Annual reports for global companies going back to 1925 and a historical Mergent industry reports from 2003.
Accessibility information for Mergent Archives

Company Profiles

MarketLine Advantage
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
Accessibility information for MarketLine Advantage
User Guide (PDF, 2.1 MB).
Factiva
Provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.

Limitation - Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only. Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence. See details below for more information.
Accessibility information for Factiva
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 30 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
Nexis UK
Is a news database which offers national, regional and international news from a range of sources on various subjects emphasising on business and industry, including company and industry reports. Its content is updated daily and many titles have a 20 year archive.

Limitation - You may only download a single copy of insubstantial portions of those Materials included in any individually searchable file or content source in the Online Services. Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 90 days only. See details below for more information.

Nexis cannot be used for any non-academic purposes. Text data mining is not permitted within our Nexis UK licence.
Accessibility information for Nexis UK
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 90 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and the Economist.
Accessibility information for ProQuest One Business
Also covers ProQuest Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
Business Source Ultimate
Provides access to journal articles, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT Analysis, Working Papers & interviews with executives & analysts. Coverage is international with content including business & management, accounting & finance, HR management, marketing and economics. It also covers engineering, health, social studies, some business law and includes full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
Accessibility information for British Source Ultimate

Industry Profiles

IBISWorld
Has a broad collection of UK, US, China and Global-level research reports for over 400 industries. Please note that there is a download limit of 25 reports per session.

Limitation - Specialized Industry Reports are not available as part of our subscription.
Accessibility information for IBISWorld
User Guides available in Business Library Moodle 2023-2024. Non-Business School students and staff should email businesslibrary@city.ac.uk.
MarketLine Advantage
International market research. Offers a comprehensive mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
Accessibility information for MarketLine Advantage
User Guide (PDF, 2.1 MB).
Mintel
UK Market research reports with a rolling two years' data. The focus is on consumer markets including a specialist coverage of the financial sector.
Accessibility information for Mintel
Please read conditions of use when logging on.
Factiva
Provides access to current content of international newspapers including major world newspapers in different scripts and languages. Some archives dating back to 1980. Coverage includes market and industry reports, financial market data and trade press in business, economic, media, engineering and more.

Limitation - Please note that the length of time to store a single copy of downloaded materials from this resource in machine readable form is limited to 30 days only. Text data mining is not permitted within our Factiva UK licence. See details below for more information.
Accessibility information for Factiva
The right to retrieve and store machine-readable copies of Materials is limited to the retrieval of a single copy of a reasonable portion of the Materials included in any individual file of the Online Services using the downloading commands of the Online Services or your web browser software and storage of that copy in machine readable form for no more than 30 days, primarily for one person’s exclusive use, to the extent the storage of those Materials is not further limited or prohibited by the Additional Terms.
ProQuest One Business
Peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and the Economist.
Accessibility information for ProQuest One Business
Also covers ProQuest Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.